Introduction - Crossing The Country On A Cannondale - CycleBlaze

Introduction

My name is Jeff. I've been riding semi-seriously for about a year, starting out on a hybrid, and then moving on fairly quickly to a third-hand Cannondale T400 touring bike (helpfully provided at a low cost by my friend Peter).

I haven't kept an exact count, but I suppose I've ridden about 1800 miles in the last year. I've done one overnight, 150 mile round trip "tour", many 50 to 70 mile rides, and one century.

I first read about the TransAmerica Trail sometime last winter, and found Neil Gunton's CrazyGuyOnABike site soon after. Inspired by some of the journals here, I decided that I might actually be able to do a trip of this magnitude.

The plan is for friends to drive me and my bike from my home in Kentucky to Yorktown, Virginia on May 31st. From there I will be using the Adventure Cycling Association maps to hopefully get to Oregon in about two months. I will be taking a tent, sleeping bag, etc., but I plan to stay in motels when I don't feel like "roughing it" - which may be most of the time ;)

Me with the bike, May 2006
Heart 1 Comment 0
My bike
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0