Day 8: Radford, VA to Wytheville, VA - Crossing The Country On A Cannondale - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2006

Day 8: Radford, VA to Wytheville, VA

44.56 miles, 4:01:26 Ride Time, 11.33 Average Speed, 35.0 Maximum Speed

Unlike yesterday's early start, today I took a while to get going - probably because yesterday I was anxious to get out of my tent, and today I was not so anxious to get out of my motel bed.

As I rode through Radford, I stopped at the first service station I saw and got a biscuit and country ham. It was easy to find my way out of town. I crossed the busy bridge over the New River, and got onto the usual country roads that the Adventure Cycling maps use.

Several miles outside of town I stopped at a yard sale. The two older men there told me that they had talked a cyclist two hours earlier with panniers similar to mine. He told them he was on his way to San Francisco. It was Tim from England, ahead of me already, despite his taking a rest day in Lexington a couple of days ago.

I had finished the first of the twelve TransAm maps yesterday, so I stopped at the Newbern Post Office and mailed it back home. One down, eleven to go.

After a nice long descent, I stopped at J.W.'s Quick Stop Bait & Tackle to get a gatorade. J.W., an older man, told me that he has had as many as 17 cyclists at his place at one time. While we were talking, a lady (J.W.'s wife, I assume) brought over some freshly cut-up watermelon. He offered me some, which I ate; it was good.

Up until now, it had been a pleasant ride, but as it got into the early afternoon, it got windy, and the wind was in my face. I find the headwinds much harder to take than the hill-climbing, and this afternoon I had both.

Shortly after riding through Draper, I crossed over I-81 and saw another cyclist. It was Kyle French, one of the college guys who are riding unloaded, with a support van. We talked for a few minutes, and he expressed his amazement that I was able to ride my fully-loaded bike. I lifted his bike, and it appeared to weigh less than 20 pounds...

I struggled on against the wind some more, and stopped to rest at a small farm somewhere between Max Meadows and Wytheville. I talked to the couple who were working in their garden there for about 10 minutes. They told me I would get to the outskirts of Wytheville after one more climb. Great.

When I got to the outskirts of Wytheville, near the interstate interchange, the first thing I saw was a Super-8. I had stayed at a Super-8 in Radford the night before, and it was a good deal, about $50 with a nice new-feeling room. So, I decided to try the Super-8 chain again. Unfortunately, this one cost $20 more, and wasn't as nice. The restaurant nearby (within walking distance), however, was above average - a local place with hickory-smoked barbeque.

Seen while leaving Radford
Heart 0 Comment 0
The New River, Radford
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another snake sighting
Heart 0 Comment 0
J.W.'s Quick Stop (J.W.'s bike in front of mine)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free watermelon at J.W.'s Quick Stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 473 miles (761 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0