Day 34: Tribune, KS to Eads, CO - Crossing The Country On A Cannondale - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2006

Day 34: Tribune, KS to Eads, CO

57.33 Miles, 3:28:40 Ride Time, 16.79 Average Speed, 26.60 Maximum Speed

By 7:15, I was putting the panniers on my bike, outside my room at the Trails End, when Johnny and Henny rode by and called out hello. Yesterday afternoon, we were joking in a mock-competitive way about when we would start riding tomorrow - I think I told them I wouldn't head out until 9:00 or so (while really planning to leave by 7:30).

I had breakfast with them at the truckstop (the only place open in town), and we looked at a map of the USA on the wall, congratulating ourselves on our progress. We took a few pictures of ourselves in front of the map, but as usual, the picture of me came out blurry (almost everyone seems to have difficulty taking non-blurry photos with my camera, for some reason).

We left together, after agreeing to meet at the Colorado state line 16 miles away for picture-taking. It was cool and overcast, and we still had the tailwind from yesterday. I got to the state line ten minutes before the others, and made one of my "Guess where I am!" phone calls to the office. I'm sure they haven't grown tired of that yet...

We continued into Colorado on Route 96, the condition of which immediately deteriorated - it was much bumpier, and apparently Colorado doesn't see the importance of a nice shoulder, at least in this part of the state. It was still flat (as it would remain for the next few days), and the only immediate differences were the presence of sagebrush in the adjacent fields, and Colorado's groovy 1970's-style road signs (at least that's how they appeared to me...). The apparently rarely-used (I never saw a train on it during the several days I rode next to it) railroad track continued to be a presence to my right.

It had been overcast when I left, and was looking increasingly rainy when I met two women riding eastbound, who told me I was five minutes from being drenched. The skies didn't look that dark, though, so I just rode on. Ten minutes later it still hadn't rained on me, when I met eastbounders Ted and Marie-Eve. They were totally bundled up in rain gear, and had been soaked - they were wringing out their sodden gloves while I talked to them. Before they rode off, Marie-Eve, who was from Quebec, glanced at my bike and said (in a French accent, of course) "Ooh - Cannondale." I find it amusing that so many people (mostly Europeans) I've met on the trip have been so impressed by my (used) bicycle - I guess it's a good thing I didn't get a Huffy ;)

It finally started raining on me a few minutes later, although it wasn't bad enough to warrant digging out my rain jacket and pants. Not longer after the light rain began, I arrived in Eads (pop. 747), my destination for the day. It wasn't even noon, and it felt ridiculous checking into the Econo Lodge so early. This had been one of my shortest riding days of the trip - Explained by the facts that I had a tailwind, it wasn't hot, it was almost completely flat, and there was virtually nothing worth stopping and photographing between Tribune and Eads.

I checked into the motel (after first searching for the owner/manager, who was cleaning one of the rooms, and who then insisted on wiping my tires off with a towel before letting me put the bike in my room), got cleaned up, then looked outside to find it pouring rain. Once again, my (uncharacteristic) good luck regarding rain had held up - but for how long, I wondered?

It rained hard for a few hours, so I holed up in my room using the wireless internet and (briefly) watching television. Eventually the sun came out, and I walked around town. I bought a couple of regional newspapers (no USA Today or Wall Street Journal to be found), and had an early dinner of fish and fries at The Purple People Eatery, where I was the only customer. I was still hungry, so I walked over to the restaurant next to the motel and had dinner #2, where I saw Johnny, Henny and Doug, who were also staying at the Econo Lodge.

I worked on this journal for a while, watched the movie "Cinderella Man" on HBO (pretty good), then went to bed after one of the least eventful days of the trip.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still on 96, but at least the signs look different now
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eastbounders Ted and Marie-Eve, dressed for the rain they had just ridden through
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from my room at the Econo Lodge in Eads - I missed the worst of the rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 2,221 miles (3,574 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0