Day 27: Everton, MO to Chanute, KS - Crossing The Country On A Cannondale - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2006

Day 27: Everton, MO to Chanute, KS

122.08 Miles, 9:22:01 Ride Time, 13.22 Average Speed, 35.5 Maximum Speed

I slept very well in the lodge (which is unusual - I usually wake up several times during the night), and got up around 5:00, actually riding out on the half mile of gravel road by 5:50, my earliest start of the trip.

The first 20 miles or so out of Everton had a few hills, but I didn't mind them because I knew it would start flattening out soon. It felt much better riding so early in the day - cool (but not uncomfortably so), and very little traffic on the back roads.

Soon the ground became very level, and I was able to ride faster than I had since Illinois. I noticed my handlebars had slipped down slightly, so I stopped for a few minutes to see if I could tighten them. I got my tools out for the first time on the trip, but couldn't reach the bolt without first taking off the clamp that the handlbar bag attaches to. I had such a hard time getting that put on originally, I definitely didn't want to mess with it on the side of the road in Missouri. I decided I would worry about it later, and rode on toward Golden City.

I had just reached the outskirts of Golden City, my destination for breakfast, when I had my first real mechanical problem. The chain started making a noise, and before I could stop, it broke and landed in the road. I lay the bike down by the side of the road, and walked back to pick the chain up, feeling disgusted. My bicycle repair experience is limited to changing flat tires; I hadn't fixed a chain before.

Luckily for me, a couple of guys in a large truck had seen the whole thing happen. They called out "do you need any help?" My answer, obviously, was "yes". They were Bill and Ryan, and were able to replace the broken link (I at least I had the foresite to bring a replacement link, although it took a minute to find it my handlebar bag) and get the chain back on in just a few minutes. I thanked them profusely, then rode on into town.

I stopped at the famous Cooky's Cafe in Golden City. The waitress immediately presented me with a menu and the cyclist logbook. I spent some time reading the logbook, and was especially interested to see that Johnny and Henny from Holland had been there the day before. I decided that I would make it my goal to catch up with them in the next few days.

After my breakfast of a ham and cheese omelet and pie, I rode out of Golden City. I immediately started seeing eastbound cyclists. Malcom and Sally Oates, from Australia, were a lively couple, with lots of advice about what lay ahead. Malcom was especially eager to point out the failings of one of the next sections of map - panel #100. "An idiot made that map!"

I met several other eastbound cyclists as I rode toward Kansas. Bas and Sandra, from Holland, told me that they recognized me from a picture they'd seen recently. Apparently they had run into the other Dutch couple I'd met (that I was now trying to catch up with), Johnny and Henny, who must have shown them some pictures of people they'd met on their trip.

I met a couple of young guys, Jake and Jamie, who were riding from California to New York. They told me about a 200 mile day they had done in Kansas... good grief! I met another Australian travelling by himself, an older man whose picture I neglected to get. He told me he had experienced major bike problems, which required a welding job to fix.

Eventually I got to the Kansas border, where I saw the most impressive state sign so far. The road also immediately improved. The first Kansas town I reached was Pittsburg (pop. 19,243). It was too soon to stop for the day, so I decided to make a quick snack stop at a service station and ride on. While I ate more of the junk food which has fueled this trip so far, I glanced down at a local newspaper that was lying on the table. There was a picture (on the front page, no less!) of Johnny, Henny, and their American companion, Doug Wiley! Apparently someone at the newspaper had seen them setting up camp the day before, and did a quick interview-and-photo session. I decided to take the paper with me and present it to the three of them when I caught up.

As I studied my map in preparation for finding the way out of Pittsburg, I realized that Malcom from Australia might have made a valid point about this map section. Check out these directions: "Turn right onto unsigned road at power pole 'Switch P7-F901 KG&E'" WHAT!?!? Now I've got to start examining the metal plates on power poles? I found my own way out of town with no problem.

By the time I reached the town of Girard I had done enough miles to call it a day, but I decided to try to make it to Chanute. Unfortunately, after I left Girard, it got hotter and windier, and the last 40 or 50 miles weren't very fun. In fact, they were among the hardest of the trip - the headwinds and the heat were tough. I rolled into Chanute at 7:30, after the longest day of the entire trip (in fact, the most miles I've ever ridden in one day on a bicycle). I stopped at the first motel I saw, a Super-8, where I was told I couldn't take my bike into the room (very annoying... and what kind of delusions of grandeur do these people have? Even the super-nice Hampton Inn in Charlottesville, VA had no problem with my bike in the room), and that the laundry room would be locked at 9:30.

I was very tired by now, so I didn't argue (much) with the woman, and put my bike in their storage room, carried my bags up to my room, and ordered a pizza. I decided that I would try not to overdo it in the future, and went to bed.

I ignored this subliminal message, and rode on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This place has obviously been closed for a while...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill and Ryan, the nice guys who fixed my broken chain
Heart 0 Comment 0
The famous Cooky's Cafe in Golden City. Despite the name, they're known for their pie.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Eastbound cyclists Malcom and Sally Oates, from Australia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eastbounders Bas and Sandra, from Holland
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jake and Jamie, riding from California to New York. The story of their 200 mile day (in Kansas) left me feeling old and tired... Thanks guys!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to Kansas - You'll come for the flat, mind-numbingly unchanging terrain; you'll stay for the brutally oppressive winds and furnace-like heat (Just kidding, Kansas)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 122 miles (196 km)
Total: 1,727 miles (2,779 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 1
George HallYou wrote; "in fact, the most miles I've ever ridden in one day on a bicycle)"

Ok now, this is really getting weird. I also rode from Everton to Chanute with a stop at Cooky's in 2015, and it was also the farthest I had ever ridden on a bicycle. https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/buddy/day-28-everton-mo-to-chanute-ks-century-day-brings-a-welcome-change-of-topography/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago