August 5: Dunnville - Cannon Ball 300 on a Cannondale (Tour 20) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2021

August 5: Dunnville

Rest day

Riverside Motel, $102

I am one happy camper. The bike is repaired and back with me so I will be resuming my riding tomorrow.

It was a pretty relaxing day. I didn't have to get going anywhere and I was going to be staying here again tonight. I did want to get out earlier enough, though, because when I looked out at 7 am it was really foggy. When I did head out, it was still hazy so good for photos, but I knew the 'real-feel' would climb.

I walked downtown and went over to the grocery store for a peach and a muffin, then returned to Queen Street hoping the second cafe was open, but not until tomorrow, so I will have to try them if I ever return here another day. So, I returned to Minga where I had another capp as I relaxed on the outdoor patio.

Of course, I was across from the bike shop, but since they had said 3 pm, I didn't go in for fear of annoying them into ignoring the work until tomorrow. I could not have that. Instead, I walked back to the motel in the hot and humid day, and was drenched when I got back so had another quick shower.

I watched a bit of tv then finally called the store around 1 pm to be told by the owner that he had done the work himself and that the bike was ready to go. Yahoo!

I got ready and walked back downtown to the store and there it was. I chatted with the owner for a while who seems like a really good guy. I would highly recommend the shop for any work you might need on your bike. Good work, fair price and fast work. I paid them, rolled the bike outside, then gingerly rode it back to the motel. The spokes held. I'll be a little paranoid for the first while, hoping they haven't been compromised after the break. Like dominoes.

Warm again, I cooled off and tried to catch up on news but once my eyes closed I was out for a snooze for a bit until I started to get hungry for supper.

Seeing as I was going to be eating on a patio, I rode the bike downtown to Debb's Fine Dining, again on Queen Street. I asked if I should ask for their signature burger or the fish and they recommended the burger. It was one of the tastiest burgers ever, the fries were fresh cut and sprinkled with coarse salt  - amazingly tasty. The one negative - my initial server's reaction when I told her that I was double-vaccinated. She said she didn't have to know this since it was a private matter to which I said, I thought it is important that people know. What this tells me is what her vaccine status likely would be. Not cool for someone serving the public.

I was going to have dessert since they have sticky toffee pudding but was full by now so I paid, hopped on my bike and returned to the motel. I am going to make it a somewhat early evening since I have another longish day tomorrow that will be in the 58 to 65 km range.

Main Street runs along the Grand River and just before the bridge is this park with huge leafy trees. I was in search of breakfast. (Dunnville, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Through the trees of the park along the Grand River you can see the bridge I crossed yesterday. That road leads to Nanticoke, Port Dover and Simcoe. The photo shows some of the haze but earlier this morning it was really foggy out so now the humidity is through the roof though it is only 23 C. (Dunnville, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is a cute cafe on Queen Street called Minga. As with many of the downtown buildings, this building appears to be more than 100 years old, though this one has been maintained. It has loads of character and must have been a pretty busy and popular spot prior to the pandemic. I sat outside at one of their tables which happens to be directly across the road from the bike shop where my bike currently awaits repairs. (Dunnville, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
'Source for Sports' was amazing to very quickly get my bike rideable again after yesterday's broken spoke. Here's hoping for no more mishaps. (Dunnville, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
My dining partner in the downtown. The meal was delicious but my server's reaction to my saying I am double-vaxx was such that I am surmising her vaxx-status might be the opposite of mine. This seems to be a popular view here as I see quite a few 'No more !ockdowns' signs in yards, as well. (Dunnville, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 231 km (143 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0