The Plan: Yes... there is one - Canberra to Adelaide Sitting On a Thorn - CycleBlaze

The Plan: Yes... there is one

I am a 60-something Australian who has a stop-start-stop-start again history of cycle-touring. My Bikeography is here on CGOAB, and has all the details.

In brief I began cycle-touring about 40 years ago as an affordable way to experience the world and have since cycle-toured in Europe, New Zealand, Australia and Japan. I have also cycle-commuted for most of my working life, and have done a few Audax events. I also own far too many bikes, and am still totally fascinated with the bicycle's magical ability to carry a person so efficiently and enjoyably.

I work part-time and have some leave accumulated. It's a few years since I've done a reasonably lengthy cycle-tour. A few months ago, my good friend and cycle-touring colleague John who has been posted to Brazil for a few years, but will be home on leave next month and December. "Do you want to ride to Adelaide? I'm bringing my Surly to Melbourne" he emailed. "Of course. Why not? Which way will you ride?" was the answer.

John's plan had been to ride from Melbourne to Adelaide via a southerly, mostly coastal route which included the superb Great Ocean Road. Unfortunately I wouldn't be able to ride to southern Victoria and Adelaide in the holiday-leave time I have, and there will be a limited time we have to reach Adelaide so John can return to Brazil on time. Hence he's agreed to my alternative ride route suggestion. He will ride from Melbourne to Albury-Wodonga. I'll ride from Canberra to Albury-Wodonga. Assuming the rendezvous happens as planned, we will then turn west and follow the big river toward Adelaide. In total, the ride will be about 1400km.

We have been advised by a few experienced tourers that we will be heading the wrong direction for the prevailing winds, and the timing is not the best as we are likely to find ourselves riding in some intense, early summer heat. These aren't major concerns. We'll try to adjust to the conditions whatever they are, and if the conditions are too bad there's always the Plan B of jumping onto a bus or a plane.

The reasons for the tour are to catch up with a good friend, explore an iconic part of Australia and to achieve the goal of riding from the national capital to one of our state capital cities. On previous "Sitting On A Thorn" tours I have ridden to two other state capitals, Sydney and to Melbourne. If this tour works out, I will add another Capital to the tally.

I've been riding for a while...1964 with my younger cousin on board. He survived.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingEr maybe cut the reference to that great site CGOAB?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Graham SmithThanks Mike.
Done.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago