Melbourne Rest Days: But there's more cycling to do - Canberra to Adelaide Sitting On a Thorn - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2017

Melbourne Rest Days: But there's more cycling to do

Saturday and Sunday 16 Dec-17 Dec
Two days enjoyable days catching up with family, doing bike maintenance, resting and Melbourne sight seeing.

I also arranged train travel to Albury-Wodonga. It’s only $18.80 with a Seniors concession for me and the bike! I am the Senior. The bike isn’t.

The VicRail service departs at 7am from Southern Cross station in Spencer Street. The interesting news is that NSW Rail won’t transport the bike unless it’s dissembled and boxed. NSW
Rail do not have a good reputation for their customer service. Not to worry.

I can’t be bothered doing tunnecessary bike dissembling, so I will cycle from Albury to Canberra. It’ll only be about 360 km extra to ride. Easy! It also means the tour will become sort of a circuit, albeit a circuit with train assist. At least I will have ridden out of home, and I will be riding back into home.

Downtown Melbourne. Quite a contrast to the small towns I have cycled through recently
Heart 0 Comment 0
Melbourne is an easy city to get around in by public transport, cycling and walking. It ranks high on liveability indexes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yes...it’s art. Also represents me discovering I will be adding 360 km to the tour thanks to NSW railway not accepting unboxed bikes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More art. At the National Gallery of Victoria.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Massive sculpture visiting from China. Buddha being clambered upon by Greek deities.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Vic market food stall. Roast lamb. Very tasty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chip thief
Heart 0 Comment 0
O-Bikes ... have become a by-word for litter in Melbourne and Sydney.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0