I thought I heard a bang!: Tumbarumba to Walwa - Canberra to Adelaide Sitting On a Thorn - CycleBlaze

November 27, 2017

I thought I heard a bang!: Tumbarumba to Walwa

Compared to the previous three days, today was a roll in the park. Sure there were a few hills, the tube in my front wheel exploded at lunchtime, and there was another massive lightning storm this afternoon but overall it was an easy day.

A major milestone was crossing the state border into Victoria. Even better, the state border is the Murray River which is the extremely long river this journey to Adelaide is planned to follow for much of the way. I have reached the Mighty Murray. Now all I to do is turn right, and ride about 1500 km. Easy!

Eye catching cottage on the outskirts of Tumbarumba
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big sky views of the high country
Heart 0 Comment 0
The tour enters cool climate wine country.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sharing the road. Quite a few logging trucks today. Needed extra alertness.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No bull. This is Angus country!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The long and winding road. Looking back to the hills it’s taken three hard days to cross.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Motorised two wheeled tourers. Lots of them in this area ... attracted by the hill climbs and curves.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hay being made while the sun shines. High country pasture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
“I thought I heard something go bang”, said the publican when I found my front wheel tube had exploded unprovoked when the bike was parked outside the pub where I had lunch.It was parked in hot sunshine, is my only theory why it popped.Thankfully it didn’t happen on any of the numerous descents I had just finished.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the state border. Farewell NSW. Hi Victoria.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Murray River. This is the river which the rest of the journey will follow downstream toward Adelaide.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today’s ride profile... easy!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tonight’s accommodation. Walwa Riverside caravan park. The continuing storms make camping an unappealing option. The cabin costs more but is very comfortable... and dry.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 290 km (180 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0