October 10, 2019 - Not finalized, but certainly planning is ongoing - Portus Cale's Atlantic Coast (Tour 24) - 2023 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 10, 2019 - Not finalized, but certainly planning is ongoing

We've been planning this for 13-1/2 years, my lad!

In these months leading up to his first tour, Alex is experiencing some exciting activities. This is his first flight in the glider after years of seeing them fly but being too young to get a flight. I am so proud of this lad and his easy-going demeanour and outlook on life. Cycle touring with him will be great, but sharing his first experience on a tour AND his first trip to Europe will be priceless. I wouldn't trade it for the world.
Heart 1 Comment 0

"When you get bigger, we're going biking in Morocco."

So. Up until a few days ago, it was going to be a trip along the Canal du Midi. Something did not feel right. Some experienced cyclists contacted me to let me know that this might not be the best option for a new tourer. For Alex. A few suggestions were given, including the Loire Valley, which has been on my 'to cycle' list for decades.

I had already run the Canal idea past Alex so now I would have to ask him if it would be alright to miss out on Toulouse, where he has wanted to visit for ages. 'That's ok," he dejectedly told me.  He never wants to disappoint anyone, so he valiantly accepted this blow. My heart broke a wee bit. But when I told him that the good news would be that we would see many castles,  see Paris and its Eiffel Tower, and still get to try paninis, baguettes, croissants and croques-monsieur... his face was all aglow.

You see, this tour has been coming for years, so I want it to be the best ever first cycle tour for my wee lad (who is not so wee anymore).

The day Alexander Michael Irvine came home when he was a day or so old, I posed him with a Lonely Planet guide book and told him that when he gets bigger, we will go biking in Morocco. The LP was Iran, where I would also love to go, but somehow the future was going to be Morocco. Cycletouring fact: That 'biking in Morocco' line was repeated pretty well each and every bedtime for 13-1/2 years.

I never knew how I would know when 'bigger' would be 'now'. A few weeks ago MA and I got back from cycling in Czech Republic and Austria. In the stages just prior to leaving,  Alex asked when he and I would be going because he might be big enough now. Then I knew. The time was now.

How did Morocco become France? I wanted somewhere with structured bike routes which Morocco did not have, so Alex suggested he would like to go to France. He also liked the idea that since we speak French, we can easily communicate with the locals. I like that idea, too. I don't mind struggling to learn a word here or there in a new language, but being able to have a full conversation will be nice.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Brent - I was surprised to see this plan beginning. It's because Canal du Midi has always been such a disappointment to us - so much of it being hard to cycle mud track. Going the other way - Toulouse to Bordeaux would be much more pleasant.

However, if you are intent on this, we do have the Bikeline guide, that we could lend you.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Tricia GrahamI agree with Steve. Toulouse to Bordeaux is great. On our trip this year we took a train from Avignon to Toulouse just to avoid the Canal du Midi
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesCroissant, or maybe pain au chocolat. Good for breakfast, snacks, quick pick me ups, actually just really good.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago