DAY 5 - Glacier to Edison WA - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2021

DAY 5 - Glacier to Edison WA

Whoops missed my turn....detour

Day 5 - woke up and my friends at Spot 2 were gone; they mentioned that they were heading out early.  

It was drizzling and the clouds were laying low over the park.  The mountain tops were hidden from like someone pulled the shades.

I moved my stuff to a nearby pavilion to pack up and made some coffee on my alcohol solo stove.  The use of alcohol is new to me; I think I like it.  The Solo Stove alcohol burner works well except the attachment that regulates the flame.  The spring piece (Handle) broke already.  There just isn't enough room for the handle to move when the attachment is in place.

Anyway, today's route was suppose to be simple - 542 West to 9 South.  Well, missed the turn on one of three roundabouts I passed through.  I saw 9 North, but 9 South is at a different location. 

Note: Talking to some locals this it not unusual - missing that turn.   North and South 9 are at two different place miles apart.  Ummm makes me feel better.

Anyway, no biggie road a reverse route that Dan and I did - 542 W thru Bellingham and then 11 along the rolling coast and Larrabee State Park.  Stopped in Edison WA, for din din and decided to camp at. School.  Forecast is for rain so I'm under an overhang.  The manager of the restaurant said I could stay on his lawn too - how nice right.

Washington State - south of the border - has been so pretty.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Tamora StumHope you had no visitors at the school..... Stay dry if you can today. Love T
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel SpanglerWow, cool photo.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Note on the roads: Mt Baker Road (542) is said to be dangerous (according to many people I talked too.)

The issue is traffic and the in-and-out shoulders.  I was able to find a few side roads off 542, that gave me some breathing room.  I will say that I had no issues with motorists in my transits if that matters.

So, the blue skies and sun peeked out on the route, but it stayed dark in my mirror.  Here are a few images from the day.

Heart 4 Comment 0
I received a call to pull this guy out but didn't have time to work it!
Heart 4 Comment 4
Daniel SpanglerSo funny. Beautiful photo as well.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerIt is a true story?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Keith A. SpanglerUmmmmm,
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 252 miles (406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerBeautiful sky and clouds. Wow. Keep on truckin’. Love you man.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerlooks incredible dawg
Reply to this comment
2 years ago