DAY 4 - Bellingham to Glacier / Mt. Baker - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2021

DAY 4 - Bellingham to Glacier / Mt. Baker

Day 4 - Turned the key on the Heavy Rescue HR21 (Long Haul Trucker) and headed for Glacier WA this morning.   After a great evening with my Warmshowers.org hosts August & Lola in Bellingham.  Thank you guys for hosting me on such a short notice!   Hugs!

Route
Heart 2 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerLooks like a stead (but overall very doable) climb. Glad to see that after the rollers of Whidbey.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerIt was Dan. It is all working out!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

The route was pretty simple Hwy 542 East 36 miles.  Amazingly flat after leaving Bellingham (that reminded me of San Fransisco).  

Heart 3 Comment 0
Brush teeth stop and...Mt. Baker Junior High
Heart 3 Comment 2
Tamora StumRemember to floss Biker Boy...... No cavities.... Love ya!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerI have been really. I'm.upfate to date. Just thought you'd like the port a jon brush
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

The shoulder changes a lot on this route from some to none, but traffic has been great.  I detoured on several alternate roads whenever available, they were so scenic.  

My new riding partner....
Heart 3 Comment 0
Turn
Heart 3 Comment 0
Just Cool Right
Heart 2 Comment 0

As I pedaled I was welcomed by my first look at Mt. Baker and the Twin Sisters (a local told me what I was looking at).   I stopped several times along the route, one stop was at an Indian Reservation called Nooksack.  I bought beautiful cards there.  The Nooksack River runs through this area; I’ve seen several views of it.  

Greetings - Twin Sisters (right) and Mt. Baker
Heart 4 Comment 1
Wendy WillisMt Baker is the northern most volcano in the cascade mountain range. It’s an active volcano but hasn’t seen any eruption fir 130 years.
Interesting huh.
I watched a YouTube video on it.
It’s beautiful!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Twin Sisters
Heart 4 Comment 1
Mt. Baker - 10,781 Feet
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerI have another that shows a field being watered in the foreground.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mt. Baker
Heart 1 Comment 0

Well, I made it to Mt Baker Park and met a couple, Ed and Jenifer, who let me stay in their campsite in the Douglas Fir Campground that sits 30 yards from the North Fork of the Nooksack River.   It was so nice. I took a hike along the River hoping to see Mt. Baker, but found out though have to drive back a nine-mile road to see it.   No biggie my guests and I talked until 9:30 pm.  They were RVing from Sarasota FL with their son John who just completed the Bar.  They were so much fun!   Thanks guys for inviting me and making me feel welcomed!!! 

Camp Day 4
Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerIt really was all night listening to the river
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
North Fork Nooksack River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hike in the woods.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jennifer, John, Ed & Me
Heart 4 Comment 0

Happy trails to my new friends!   

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 196 miles (315 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Daniel SpanglerSo much to “see!” Glad you are getting such a great day weather wise to explore that beautiful country. Keep on truckin’. Thanks for the update.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerwhat a lovely journey!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerIt has been meeting some nice people. The bartenders were really nice to me in Edison. Ace is small, but has a weird tourist thing going on. Hard to describe it really, so I won't try.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerForecast is rain tonight we will see. Decided to stay in Edison at a school.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago