DAY 3 - Larrabee to Bellingham WA - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2021

DAY 3 - Larrabee to Bellingham WA

From the Path.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Day 3 - Short day to drop Dan off at the rail (bus) back home.   We road a nice trail through the woods before dropping onto the road into Bellingham.   

Next Leg - Now Solo
Heart 2 Comment 0

We had a few minutes to get some great food at Dan’s favorite (good good) down by the water.  We hugged and he set sail to his public transportation back to His family in West Seattle.  Safe travels Dan and thanks!  

Love You
Heart 2 Comment 0

I’ll be staying Bellingham with a warmshowers host - August and Lola.  Great story about Lola.  I wrote Lora a couple weeks ago about maybe staying at their home as I passed through the area - and off course she said heck yes.   

Well, little dud I know I’d meet Lola (without knowing it was her) on a steep section of a trail at Deception State Park.  Lola volunteered to help me push my loaded touring up to the Deception Pass  Bridge - how nice of the “stranger” on the trail.   We introduced ourselves and went on our way.

Today I decided to call my warmshowers host to see about visiting tonight and guess what….it was the stranger on the trail Lola who answered.  We both laughed!   Lola was traveling solo on her own bike tour and that is when I met her and didn’t know it!

Anyway, her husband, August, invited me to stay the night with him - how cool right.  So thankful to make this connection in such a “strange” way.  It was meant to be right!

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 156 miles (251 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerFair winds and following seas! Stay safe and remember to “see.” Love you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumSo nice that you two had a wonderful two days together. Stay safe hubby! Love Wifey
Reply to this comment
2 years ago