DAY 18 - Recovery Day - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2021

DAY 18 - Recovery Day

Route Planning

Day 18 - In Aberdeen 

Had the opportunity to meet Scott’s warmshowers.org host Lauri at the coffee shop this morning.  Scott was there too.  Lauri is so nice; she shared some local knowledge about roads and routing which was very helpful. Thank you Lauri for the conversation it was nice meeting you.   FYI, I'll  look up that Idaho Hot Springs Adventure Cycling Route; it sounds so fun!

Heavy Rescue Operator (look in my glasses)
Heart 2 Comment 2
brandon spanglerlookin pretty mountain man
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerI’m ready to give r a trim
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Scott and I finally had some time to chat over lunch; sharing thoughts on the bike is difficult so...  It was a pleasure meeting a real bicycle traveler and learning about his trip.  I won't bore you I promise, but with a few details.  

Scott's trip started in April 2021, with a goal to visit all of the National Parks - an 18-month adventure.  He is raising funds for the National Park Service, an organizing who is finding itself in handcuffs of the budget and politics. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Scott has logged 4,300 miles in his journey to date.  His ride continues from Aberdeen Friday as does mine.  He will be heading for the Red Woods and southward.  Amazing right.  

Happy Trails Scott stay safe and focused on the ride.

My mini adventure is nearing its end as the ferry to Seattle nears to the north.  Here is the plan as of today.

Aberdeen to Grayland State Park - 25 miles
Grayland State Park to Schafer State Park - getting a lift with my son Dan and Mr. B (the adventure dog; they are driving over to spend 2 overnights with me)
Schafer State Park to Shelton Link to Schafer State Park
Shelton, Union to Bremerton and East Bremerton - back on the road 
Link to Union
 Link to Shelton

East Bremerton back to Bremerton and West Seattle - where it all began.
Final reflections will come later. First I will be visiting with Dan, Louise and Mr. Benny, and later my older son Brandon who is flying in for a concert at the Gorge.  I think I have my memories to make while I'm here.   I'm so fortunate!
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0