DAY 11 - Whale Watching to Port.Townsend (Ferry) - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2021

DAY 11 - Whale Watching to Port.Townsend (Ferry)

On the "PS Express"

By John, thank you buddy
Heart 4 Comment 0

Day 11 - after a photo op with John, writing and mailing post cards became top priority.  Got it done with a cup of coffee. Look at the mailbox - see your post card?

Let me know if you get one....

Do you see yours?
Heart 3 Comment 1

Let me know!

After a cup of coffee and some some snacks,  I checked in at my ride - the Glacier Spirit run by Puget Sound (PS) Express.   This boat is  a secret shuttle to Port Townsend.   By secret, no one really knew about in Friday Harbor.  Seriously!  It isn't part of the Washington Ferry System, so maybe that is why.  Anyway, if you come this way Google it.

Back to the story, the Heavy Rescue (my bike) was loaded topside and secured and the bags stowed below. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Heavy Rescue stowed topside, bags below and we were off!  The map shows where I was at one time in the crossing.

My Location
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is. Whale watching boat so we took our time and actually were on scene with several pods of killer whales for 50 minutes.

Whale Drift Music by Brandon Spangler.

My little lens tried hard. ( Job for the 200mm)
Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerReally cool- Louise and I have lived here for 2-4 years and haven’t seen a whale. You’re getting spoiled!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was hard to capture in the camera, but cool to see.

We pulled into Port Townsend Harbor at around 4:30 pm - 46 miles on the water!  It was great!

I'm staying with warmshowers.org hosts Lys and Dan in Port Townsend. They had freshly baked pasta ready for me and a room with a shower and a big bed.

I'll try to get a picture of them ok.  Hopefully I have a little time with them. So far, I know Lys is an advocate for Orca whales and dances (yes, wifey dances, I told her about you) and Dan is a photographer and actually shot for National Geographic.  How cool is this couple.

Tomorrow I hope to get along the path heading westward to Port Angeles.  There is a trail ((Discovery Trail) that keeps me off of the road for a bit.   😃

Chat later. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jeanna & Kerry SmithSounds like a wonderful day, Keith. Have fun!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago