DAY 10 - Lopez Island to San Juan (Ferry) - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2021

DAY 10 - Lopez Island to San Juan (Ferry)

Day 10 - started with another  scenic ferry boat ride back to San Juan.  As I dropped into the ferry terminal I was greeted by Mt Baker again.

This gigantic master piece of nature had been a beacon of inspiration my whole trip.  Always peeking over the landscape when you least expected it.  Today was another surprise appearance!

Mt Baker
Heart 3 Comment 0

Some of you may be asking yourself does Keith ever ride his bike or does he just ride ferry boats.

I must admit I asked myself that same question.  I've spent a lot of time off the bike on this tour for sure, but I've seen and experienced lot.  My wifey, my sons, and John (my Warmshowers host) reassured me relaxing was a good thing and that I should take the time to see and explore.  Moving miles is important, but so seeing us too.  

As I reflect on Day 10, I'm sitting in Friday Harbor sipping coffee and watching ferry boats and seaplanes come and go.  How cool right.

Anyway, back to Day 10, I was graciously welcomed back to John's home to shower and stay another night.

Just like old friends we chatted about things and he offered me some words of inspiration for my upcoming trip to the Olympic Peninsula on 8-12.

The evening ended with a car tour to John's favorite parts of the island that included a sunset that was amazing.  

From our hill top viewing point we witnessed nature's dramatic change from day to night as the mountains of Canada and Olympic National Park loom in the background.  

We commented to one another how many people may be missing it by sitting at home watching TV.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerThat is really spectacular man.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We felt thankful!

Well, my overnight was spent sleeping under the stars on John's patio swing.  In the morning John and I said our goodbyes with a handshake and hugs.  

Farewell John, it was amazing to meet you at the Church and to share a great three days becoming friends!  

Keep making images John

Thank you for everything my friend!
Heart 4 Comment 1
brandon spangler awesome picture
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jeanna & Kerry SmithKeith,
I'm really enjoying your photos! Keep them comming.
Kerry
Reply to this comment
2 years ago