Day 0: John Bikes, Carole Rafts, Mike and Kathy Kentuck Knob - A Plethora of Baby Boomers Partial and Piecemeal Pedal of the Great Allegheny Passage Trail - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2017

Day 0: John Bikes, Carole Rafts, Mike and Kathy Kentuck Knob

Heart 0 Comment 0

Carole and I packed up the bikes and supplies and left our house in Ashton MD for the 170 mile ride to Confluence PA. Carole dropped me off in Cumberland at 11am and I started the 62 mile ride west on the Great Allegheny Passage trail the rest of the way to Confluence.

John starts off the adventure at GAP mile 0 in Cumberland on Day 0.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The abandoned rail lines that the Great Allegheny Passage trail follows date as far back as 1883, with the last section shutting down in 1991 - enabling the audacious idea of a continuous off-road routes from Cumberland MD to Pittsburgh PA to become a reality. Between 2003 and 2006, the Big Savage Tunnel was rehabilitated for biking/hiking use and most of the sections for my Cumberland to Confluence ride were open for business.

The 62 mile ride on the Great Allegheny Passage trail from Cumberland MD to Confluence PA, with elevation chart. Major difference in average speed and heart rate on the first 25 miles vs. the last 37... (Note: the route goes from right to left, the elevation chart corresponds to going left to right - the elevation doesn't line up under the route)
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first 15 miles is a steady uphill to Frostburg along the scenic rail line that runs steam engine and diesel trains between Cumberland and Frostburg. My timing was such that I didn't see a train this time - there is one short tunnel that is very exciting to share with a steam locomotive... It was already in the 80s and sunny and I was sweating up a storm climbing the 1.5-3% grade, so I stopped at the well-designed Frostburg rest stop to refill my water bottles.

Frostburg - 15 miles up the 25 mile climb to the Eastern Continental Divide
Heart 0 Comment 0

From there it was more steady climb up with increasingly beautiful views. I could see the huge wind turbines were spinning up on the ridge, so I was looking forward to a nice cooling breeze. Through the short Borden tunnel (900 ft long), over the Mason Dixon line cobblestones and I reached the long Big Savage Mountain tunnel (3,300 ft.) I stopped to put the new 800 lumen handlebar light on the bike - it had turned nighttime into daytime in my garage at home, but as Chris said "that tunnel just devours photons." But, combined with the ceiling lighting in the tunnel, the light was plenty strong enough for me to keep pedaling through the tunnel's cool air.

From there it was a mile or so to the Eastern Continental Divide and for the rest of the way my sweat would eventually enrich the Gulf of Mexico vs. the Chesapeake Bay. The next 37 miles to Confluence average .8% downhill grade - enough for a power boost but you are definitely not coasting.

I rode over the Keystone Viaduct (900') into Meyersdale and the Salisbury Viaduct (1,900' long) into Garrett, and then I took a break at the 44 mile mark at Rockwood.

Bicycle wind vane art at the Rockwood rest stop, 44 miles from Cumberland and 18 more miles to go to Confluence.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last 18 mile section follows the Cassselman River, with many scenic views. About 60 miles in I reached the two very picturesque bridges over the Casselman that let you know you are close to Confluence and at 4pm I reached the Parker House where 14 of us would be staying. Rick and Maggie had just pulled in after their 5 hour ride from Chris and June's in Lusby.

Carole had continued on to Confluence after dropping me off in Cumberland, and met Mike and Kathy for lunch. Carole then joined up with Martha and a group of Wounded Warriors for some exciting small boat whitewater rafting on the abnormally high Casselman. Mike and Kathy went on to view the amazing Kentuck Knob Frank Lloyd Wright house in Ohiopyle, and we all met for a fine dinner at the Braddock Inn in Farmington.

Idyllic photo from Mike and Kathy's visit to Kentuck Knob. Normally when I see deer they are either eating my landscaping or enabling local automotive body shops to pay their monthly boat payments.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 62 miles (100 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0