Train to San Francisco - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2009

Train to San Francisco

On the afternoon of July 9 my wife drove me 55 miles north to Eugene, Oregon, dropping me off at the AMTRAK train station. AMTRAK is a great travel value for cyclists. The Eugene-San Francisco ticket cost $75 for me and $5 for the bike. I re-used a bike box that was left on the platform to avoid buying a new $15 box.

This is only my 2nd trip on AMTRAK. My first trip was in 1989, a 36 hour train ride from Denver to San Francisco to start a 6-month bike tour. That was my longest bike tour and this tour turned out to be my second-longest. My two longest tours both started with a train ride to San Francisco.

The train arrives at the Eugene AMTRAK station. I'll spend the night on this train on the way to San Francisco.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The train departed on time at 5PM, headed south to San Francisco. I was on the train for 15 hours, arriving on time in Oakland at 8AM. I'm not good at sleeping in a chair. Fortunately I was able to lay down on the floor for a few hours in a video arcade area on the lower level of my car. I had my inflatable pillow with me, but my mattress pad was in the checked luggage.

At the Oakland train station I boarded an AMTRAK bus to get across the bay to San Francisco. I watched carefully out the window to make sure my bike got loaded on the bus.

View of downtown San Francisco from the AMTRAK bus on the bay bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI lived in the San Francisco area for 5 years back in the early 1990s - it's a big city!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago

I live in a town of 940 people and don't visit big cities very often. Arriving in San Francisco was kind of disorienting, especially after a night with not much sleep.

The bus arrived at the San Francisco ferry terminal at 9AM. It took me nearly 2 hours to unpack everything and get on the road.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0