Day 7: To Plaskett Creek campground - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2009

Day 7: To Plaskett Creek campground

I must be well rested because I was up at 6:50 and on the road at 8:15. The weather was sunny and warm at the Pfeiffer Big Sur campground and during the climb to the 900 foot summit that separates the inland valley from the ocean. But a surprise greeted me when I looked down from the summit-no ocean. Just a blanket of fog not far below.

Looking down on a blanket of fog that rises 700 feet above the ocean.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road promptly descended into the fog. Later a couple of the taller hilltops were in the sun just above the fog, but most of the time the road was in dense fog. Sometimes I could hear waves and barking sea lions, but I couldn't see them. The temperature was 58F with no wind. I wore tights and a jacket.

I saw more touring cyclists today than any other day of the tour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This couple from Florida is riding from Seattle to San Diego with bucket panniers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fog can be enchanting sometimes.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGreat shot of the curving road, rocks, trees, fog. :)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Finally the road gets low enough for the day's first glimpse of the ocean.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The book highly recommends the 10 minute hike to see a beach waterfall at Julia Pfeiffer Burns state park. It was worth the walk, even with dense fog.

The famous waterfall beach at Julia Pfeiffer Burns state park.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltI never knew about the waterfall at Julia Pfeiffer Burns state park! Nice!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Wayne EstesTo Charmaine RuppoltThe waterfall beach is well signed, quite famous. Also strictly off-limits to people, with a huge trespassing fine. You can only view it from above.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

In the afternoon the fog finally lifted 200 or more feet above the ocean. The views of the ocean were decent, but of course the mountains just disappear into the fog.

The fog is beginning to lift.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the afternoon the fog lifted well above the ocean.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was as good as it gets. Much better than in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was passed by at least 10 touring cyclists today. Most of them camped at the same place I did last night. But they all went farther today. At 3:30 I pulled into the Plaskett Creek campground, run by the US Forest Service. It doesn't have showers. Maybe that why I'm the only cyclist here. I have a water sack and shower hose, so I made my own shower. I could easily have biked further today, but the next decent campsite is too far for my preference. When I have to choose between "too short" or "too long" I usually choose short.

I walked to the nearby Jade beach. It was quite a rocky scramble to get down to the beach. People are allowed to keep jade that they find below the low tide line.

Today was quite a contrast from yesterday. I would prefer sunshine and good visibility, but fog adds to the variety of experiences. Big Sur is famous for fog during summer.

Distance: 35.5 mi (57 km)

Climbing: 2799 ft (848 m)

Average speed: 8.7 mph (13.9 km/h)

Max speed: 36.5 mph (58 km/h)

Hiking: 1 mi (1.6 km)

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 268 miles (431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltI haven't heard of Jade Beach -- did you find any jade?
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Wayne EstesTo Charmaine RuppoltI saw some greenish boulders embedded on the beach, but no vivid green jade. People are allowed to keep any jade that they find underwater BELOW the low tide line.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago