Day 5: To Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2009

Day 5: To Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park

I got up before 7 but it was past 9 before I got on the road because I spent so much time talking to all the other folks at the busy hiker/biker site. I climbed up the hill on Skyline Drive, then down to Carmel. I took the "book" detour to downtown Carmel and the beach.

Beach at Carmel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then back to Hwy 1 on the road that passes by Mission San Carlos. I took the picture from the mission's front gate without paying the $5 admission fee.

San Carlos mission in Carmel, dedicated in 1797.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on Hwy 1, it was only a short distance to the turnoff for Point Lobos State Reserve. I was pleased to discover that cyclists don't have to pay the vehicle admission fee. I spent more than an hour walking several of the loop trails, about 2 miles. The trails are all lined with ropes to keep people on the trail. That keeps the surrounding vegetation from being trampled by the crowds. It was crowded, but I really enjoyed Point Lobos and feel that my photos didn't really capture how enchanting the place really is. The temperature was 70F with sunshine and light wind. Very pleasant.

Trail at Point Lobos State Preserve.
Heart 0 Comment 0
End of the point at Point Lobos State Preserve.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many visitors stopped for a long time to watch these birds. I'm not sure what was so interesting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Point Lobos State Preserve.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was past noon by the time I got back on Hwy 1. Traffic was heavy and the road has little or no shoulder. But the views are outstanding. I appreciated being able to stop and take pictures in places where a car could never stop. The views are wide open after passing the community of Carmel Highlands. No trees to obstruct the view, and lots of flowers.

Looking towards Big Sur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highway 1 at Big Sur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Visibility was excellent. A perfect day at Big Sur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A motorist insisted on taking my picture here. The only photo of me on the coastal segment of this tour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
By chance this photo shows how summer traffic can be heavy at Big Sur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here the road is about 500 feet above the ocean.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Every tourist stops to take a picture at the Bixby Creek bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the final big climb before Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park it was warm enough in the sun that I got sweaty for the first time on the tour.

An awesome view at Big Sur.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't know it at the time, but this was my last picture of Big Sur in sunshine.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got a site ($3) at the large hiker/biker camp at Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park. The hiker/biker area is in a redwood grove, but very close to the highway. Fortunately there was very little traffic at night. The site was in dense shade and somewhat buggy (previous campsites were bug-free). Two other touring cyclists were camped there, on their way home to San Diego. It was a refreshing change of scenery to camp in a redwood grove. This is the only place I'll see redwoods during this tour, so I decided to stay 2 nights to spend more time in the redwoods.

Distance: 38.7 mi (62 km)

Climbing: 2653 ft (804 m)

Average speed: 9.3 mph (14.9 km/h)

Max speed: 38 mph (61 km/h)

Hiking: 2 mi (3.2 km)

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 223 miles (359 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0