Day 42: To Umpqua hot spring - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2009

Day 42: To Umpqua hot spring

I slept until 8. Today will be short and easy, mostly downhill. I got on the road at 9:25, then 3 miles later stopped at the Diamond Lake resort to buy groceries and enjoy the view and warm sunny weather.

I forgot to take a picture of the superb view of 8363-foot Mt. Bailey from the Diamond Lake resort.This picture is from 2 years earlier when I hiked to the summit. But it looked about the same this year.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then up a hill to connect with Highway 138 west. From there I began a long gentle 2900 foot descent through the dense forest to the North Umpqua river. I visited 3 waterfalls on the way down. Clearwater Falls is 1/2 mile off the highway on a spur road.

Clearwater Falls drops 30 feet in segments.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Whitehorse Falls is only a couple hundred yards off the highway, in a small campgound.

Whitehorse Falls drops 15 feet into a punchbowl.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGlad you enjoy seeing/photographing waterfalls - I enjoy them also.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago

Watson Falls is 1/4 mile down a spur road, then 1/4 mile hike up a trail.

Wind-blown Watson Falls drops 272 feet. Tallest waterfall in southern Oregon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Creek below Watson Falls. Moss everywhere.
Heart 1 Comment 0

2.2 miles past the Watson Falls turnoff I turned north onto Forest road 34 to Toketee Lake. The road crosses a huge wooden pipe that diverts much of the North Umpqua river into hydroelectric turbines.

Enormous wooden barrel pipe for the North Umpqua hydro project.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then the road goes along the shore of Toketee Lake. It's a small reservoir, part of the hydro project.

Toketee Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Past Toketee Lake I turned onto gravel Forest Road 3401 and pedaled 2 miles to the Umpqua hot spring area. I arrived at 12:30PM and set up my free campsite 200 feet from the North Umpqua river, at 2500 feet elevation. I made lunch and relaxed for a long time, enjoying the old growth forest and trying to stay cool in the afternoon heat. Today's high temperature was 88F, same as yesterday. That's surprising, considering how much elevation I lost today. There's a vault toilet nearby and I filtered water from the river.

Free campsite next to a 5 foot diameter Western Red Cedar, with a handy stump table.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Much later I hiked 1/2 mile to Umpqua hot spring. The upper pools are best when in the shade.

Log crossing on the trail to Umpqua hot spring. The footbridge has been out for 3 years.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Upper pools at Umpqua hot spring. The 110F source pool is in the lower right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lower pools at Umpqua hot spring have a dizzying view down a steep slope to the North Umpqua river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a long evening soak and didn't get back to my tent until 12:30AM. Several other people came and went but the atmosphere was quiet and mellow, no obnoxious drunks.

Today I was on the bike for not much more than 2 hours. I'm well rested for tomorrow. Home is 77 miles away.

Distance: 30.5 mi (49 km), 2 mi (3 km) on gravel

Climbing: 775 ft (235 m)

Average speed: 14.1 mph 22.6 km/h)

Max speed: 38 mph (61 km/h)

Hiking: 3 mi (4.8 km)

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 1,808 miles (2,910 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0