Day 30: To Sierra Hot Spring - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2009

Day 30: To Sierra Hot Spring

At 6:30AM it was very foggy, 40F. So I slept until 8:30. By then the fog layer had lifted up to the treetops. I got on the road at 9:45. The road climbs to some minor hilltops, but there are no huge climbs and no awesome views. The Sierra Nevada mountains are fading away as I travel north.

The Sierra Nevada mountains are not so big north of Lake Tahoe.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Most of the time the surrounding trees obstruct any mountain view.

Tall trees block the views most of the time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Occasional hilltop views.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at Sierraville at noon. At the cafe I saw a touring cyclist, the first I've seen since leaving the coast 19 days ago. I had lunch at the cafe then made a quick grocery stop.

In Sierraville I met Chuck from Eugene. The first touring cyclist I've seen in 19 days.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My destination for today is Sierra hot spring which is 2 miles outside of Sierraville (4950 feet elevation). I'm meeting an old friend there. Marilyn and I biked cross country together in 1989. I haven't seen her in 15 years.

Airstrip in Sierraville.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We had a long afternoon soak in the hot spring (no cameras allowed) and made dinner at the communal kitchen in the lodge. The camping area is on the edge of the forest with a view of the Sierra valley. They don't allow cooking or food in the camping area because of bears.

Twilight view from our campsite at Sierra Hot Springs.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride was short enough that today could be called a rest day. I spent the afternoon relaxing in a hot spring. The weather was delightful. Mostly sunny with a high of 75F. Cooler than normal but much warmer than the last two days. The temperature cooled rapidly in the evening.

Distance: 24.2 mi (38.7 km)

Climbing: 1287 ft (390 m)

Average speed: 11.1 mph (17.8 km/h)

Max speed: 39 mph (62 km/h)

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 1,320 miles (2,124 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0