Day 28: To South Lake Tahoe - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2009

Day 28: To South Lake Tahoe

Early in the morning it was 48F, windy, and clear. I packed up and was at the nearby cafe at 7:30. After the long breakfast stop it was totally overcast.

Rain in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The temperature dropped rapidly during the 1100 foot climb to Luther Pass. At the pass it looked like it could start raining any second. So I bundled up for a wet descent.

The sun came out momentarily, but it started raining on the descent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It rained a little bit on the descent, but not much. In South Lake Tahoe I stopped at a McDonalds for tea, to use Wi-Fi, and to see how the weather develops. A shower came and went while I was there. Then I went across the parking lot to a supermarket. Then I had lunch at a Subway, and another shower came and went. It looked like it would be cold and windy with occasional showers for the rest of the day, so I got a motel at 1 PM. $72. It didn't rain most of the time but there were several more showers during the afternoon.

Today turned out to be a rest day because I don't want to ride Lake Tahoe while the weather is terrible. I washed clothes, showered, shaved, mended clothes, watched TV. It was nice to have a mini-vacation from the bike tour. My last motel was 8 days ago.

Today's ride was short and easy. I ate at restaurants for all 3 meals today. The weather forecast says that tomorrow will be dry, but overcast and still unusually cold.

Distance: 20.6 mi (33 km)

Climbing: 1103 ft (334 m)

Average speed: 10.7 mph (17.1 km/h)

Max speed: 43 mph (69 km/h)

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,235 miles (1,988 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0