Day 23: Hike to Rainbow Falls, Devil's Postpile - The California J 2009 - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2009

Day 23: Hike to Rainbow Falls, Devil's Postpile

Today is a hiking day. But today's hikes are easy, with no huge climbs. First I went to the Devil's Postpile, about a mile away. The main face of the postpile was in the shade, so I decided to go back later in the day when it's in the sun. I backtracked and continued farther down the San Joaquin river to 105-foot Rainbow Falls. It also faces west and was in the shade (thus no rainbow). But it's far enough away that I don't plan to go back later.

San Joaquin river on the hike to Rainbow Falls. This must be near its headwaters.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Most of today's hiking is in the Ansel Adams wilderness.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The San Joaquin River drops 105 feet (32m) at Rainbow Falls. I never saw a rainbow.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltRainbow Falls is pretty!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Rainbow Falls from below.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After wandering around the falls area I walked 1.5 miles back to Red's Meadow resort for lunch. The temperature was warming up and it was particularly hot when hiking uphill in the sun through the burned area back to Red's Meadow. Fortunately the trail was only in the burn area for about half a mile.

It was warm when the trail passed through this burned area. Not much shade here. The top of Mammoth mountain is visible above the ridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

For lunch I had a big burger at the restaurant at Red's Meadow resort. There I learned that the resort is having a barbeque buffet picnic for dinner. So I bought a $20 ticket and spread the word at the hiker campsite.

Back at the campsite I rested and did chores. I cleaned the bike chain and checked all the bolts on the racks, etc. I did find a couple of loose bolts. There was plenty of time to kill. It was nice to be lazy for several hours because I haven't had ANY true rest days on this tour.

At 4:30PM I walked back to the Devil's Postpile to take pictures. It is perhaps the best example of columnar basalt in North America (columnar basalt forms when lava flows in very specific conditions). Over time earthquakes make the columns break and fall down. But they are still numerous and very tall.

Late afternoon view of the Devil's Postpile.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, the Devil's Postpile is very interesting looking! Looks like a bunch of trees or telephone poles!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
I don't think the park service recommends sitting on the top edge of the postpile.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The trail goes to the top of the postpile which is very interesting. Many of the tops were scoured by a glacier 8000 years ago. The parallel scrape marks are clearly visible. It looks like a flagstone patio.

Top of some postpiles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The tops of these basalt "posts" were scoured by a glacier 8000 years ago.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At 6PM two other hikers and I walked to Red's Meadow resort for the barbeque. It was all-you-can-eat, so I got my money's worth. Caesar salad, beef brisket, chicken, beans, cole slaw, potatoes, corn, fruit, and lemonade. Live western swing music (Bob Wills, etc.) added to the atmosphere.

Live entertainment at the barbeque at Red's Meadow Resort.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltThat was a great deal you had with the $20 all you can eat dinner and music provided!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Wayne EstesTo Charmaine RuppoltIt's probably $40 now. This was 15 years ago.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago

When talking to the backpackers in the evening one of them told me he had seen my bike tour journals. He was probably the first stranger I ever met who had seen my journals.

Today was a beautiful day with a high of about 80F-pleasantly cool except when hiking uphill in the sunny burned area. I was pleased that there were no insects even though the vegetation is somewhat lush. After spending so much time in desert environments it was refreshing to spend the day in a pine forest. The barbeque dinner was a great highlight to this "vacation day" from the bike. Tomorrow I pedal back to the east side of the Sierra.

Biked 0 mi

Hiked 7 mi (11.2 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltYou plan out very good bike trips. :) It must take you a while to do all the planning!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Wayne EstesThis tour had some memorable and strenuous side trips. Kearsarge Pass and Red's Meadow were planned in advance. The Crater Lake Garfield Peak hike was planned. All the hot spring detours were planned.
I wanted to hike the the summit of Lassen Volcano but that trail was closed because of a fatality. A kid climbed on a retaining wall, which fell down and killed him. I did a pretty good alternate hike, though. I do think this was a very well rounded trip. Many things besides cycling.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago