Day 5 - Port Townsend to Belfair - Riding the California Dream - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2022

Day 5 - Port Townsend to Belfair

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was a long ride today, and I’m a day behind on the journal (I’ll have to write about day 4 later), so I’m going to keep this short. 

We packed up early and headed out of camp by 8:30 this morning. Another cool, overcast day, but no rain so we’re happy. 

Our route took us back through town and onto the Larry Scott Memorial Trail, which wound along the water and through then woods, away from traffic and a real pleasure  to ride. 

Early morning view of Port Townsend from the campground.
Heart 4 Comment 0

We went down Oak bay road, which took us past Mats Mats Bay - a rather strange name, and I’m going to look up its history as soon as I can find some time.  

Mats Mats Bay
Heart 2 Comment 0

We then crossed Hood Canal bridge, which is a massive floating bridge. It was very busy, but had a wide shoulder and was comfortable to cross. 

Crossing Hood Canal bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking out on the water from the middle of the bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Soon after the bridge, we turned into Kitsap park to rest and enjoy lunch at about the halfway point of the ride. 

Lunch at Kitsap park.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The rest of the day is a bit of a blur at this point. Lots of climbing and descending along wooded roads.  I didn’t take any more pictures. 

In Silverdale, a group of us decided to stop at REI. I needed some warmer pants to wear in the evenings, and others needed a few camping items as well. That little detour took about 45 minutes or so. 

After Silverdale we traveled along Chico way, which we got to pretty late in the day as a result of our shopping spree, and so found ourselves in the middle of after school and rush-hour traffic. The road has very narrow shoulders in some places and the nonstop traffic made it quite stressful to ride. I think if we had come through there earlier in the day it would’ve been much more enjoyable.

Two miles from our destination, Something punctured my rear tire. I have tubeless tires, and the sealant was spraying everywhere. Fortunately, the puncture sealed and I was able to add some air and get to camp. Once there, I examined the tire, added sealant and air, and everything seems to be good at this point. 

Since we didn’t arrive until after 5:00 PM, the rest of the evening was taken up with setting up tents, eating, showering, and getting ready for tomorrow. All I know is that I’m tired and should sleep well. 

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 191 miles (307 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
David TattersallTo Ginya ginyatrier@gmail.com I really enjoy your blog and pictures looks like y’all are having a great Tour.
Stay safe David Tattersall
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonThat’s a long day! Glad you made it safely.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago