Day 3 - Larrabee to Deception Pass State Park - Riding the California Dream - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2022

Day 3 - Larrabee to Deception Pass State Park

Heart 0 Comment 0

Even though for years I  woke up at 5:00 or 5:30 every morning to exercise before work, I am not a morning person.  I just need to say that. And when I retired from my corporate job, I decided that 7:00 or later was a civilized time to rise. So what am I doing with this crazy bunch of morning people?

Last evening, our tour leader had informed us that we should have our bags (i.e. tents, gear, and clothing) ready to go by 8:30. Breakfast is at 7:00, so that seemed reasonable. The first alarm went off at 6:15, and by the time I got up at 6:30, half the camp was already tearing down their tents. 

I learned from the day before not to lollygag, so I had dressed in my bike kit before exiting my tent, but still…I’d really like to relax and have some coffee and breakfast before breaking down camp. Instead, I ended up drinking coffee while taking down my tent and packing up. I was still the last one out on the road, except for Scott who, like me, hasn’t camped in many years. 

So Scott and I rolled out together down highway 11 toward Edison. It wasn’t long before we caught up with some of the group who had stopped to take in the view at one of the turnouts. 

From then on it was a game of leapfrog as we passed, grouped up with, or rode at our own pace throughout the day.  

On Hwy 11 where the water, the railway, and the road intersect.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonGreat photo of you! You look very happy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Rachael AndersonThanks, Rachael.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

While the day was overcast and cool, the air quality was much better and the ride enjoyable. 

The sun breaking through the clouds.
Heart 1 Comment 0

One of my favorite sections was the Padilla Bay Shore trail, a crushed gravel path that followed the edge of the bay (really more like mudflats). 

The Bay View Trail
Heart 3 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI love this trail also. A couple of years ago we were biking it and a family of sea otters lumbered across the trail and dropped into the canal on the other side.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Scott AndersonWow, that must have been fun to see.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Originally, we planned to cross Fidalgo Bay to Anacortes using the Tommy Thompson trail bridge, but it was closed due to a fire, so we had to cross on Hwy 20.  Lots of traffic, but the shoulder was wide and the view from the top of the bridge fantastic. 

The view from the bridge to Fidalgo island.
Heart 3 Comment 0

We cycled through Anacortes and followed Lake Heart road out of town of the way to Deception Pass. 

Obligatory bike lean picture.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart lake, leaving Anacortes.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Deception Pass bridge is extremely narrow, and though many cyclists go ahead and cross the bridge on the road (taking the lane), I elected to walk my bike across using the equally narrow pedestrian walkway, because I wanted to be able to stop and take pictures midway across.  The walkway is so narrow that it’s difficult for two people to pass each other. 

The narrow walkway across Deception Pass
Heart 3 Comment 4
Rachael AndersonWe walked this part, also!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenI remember nicking my shin with my pedal while walking across. It hurt for days!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Rachael AndersonSo much safer.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Kathleen ClassenOuch! I can see how that would happen.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The view from Deception Pass Bridge.
Heart 4 Comment 0

From there, it was only a half mile or so to the campground. 

The road into the campground.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After setting up my tent, I meandered down to the beach and then walked about half a mile down a trail that paralleled the shore. It was lovely and quiet, and it felt good to hike after a morning on the bike.  

The beach with a view of Deception Pass bridge
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hiking a trail in the park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another beach view.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Settled for the night.
Heart 4 Comment 0

And for those who like to see the day in action, a compilation video…


Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 83 miles (134 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Ginya ginyatrier@gmail.comLoving following you on this adventure--envious of your commitment to accomplish this dream. Happy for you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Ginya ginyatrier@gmail.comThanks, Ginya.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierI agree completely with you about early mornings. We rarely get on the road before 10AM. I need my second cup of coffee!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Genny FoxAh, this entry made me nostalgic. We rode some of this several years ago on our Northwest Fortnite tour. Beautiful part of the country!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago