Day 23 - Leggett to Fort Bragg - Riding the California Dream - CycleBlaze

October 2, 2022

Day 23 - Leggett to Fort Bragg

The infamous climb

Heart 1 Comment 0

I’ve been hearing about the long climb out of Leggett and somewhat dreading it. At over 4 miles, it would be one of the longest climbs to date — save for the the Seven Devils Road climb. Plus, I wondered how I would do with my injured foot. 

My foot seemed a little better in the morning so I resolved to make the climb. My strategy was just to get into a low gear, keeping it as light as possible, and grind it out. Turned out I was able to stand sometimes and that helped. Overall, it wasn’t super steep, just long, and quite doable with patience. 

Climbing the long hill in the morning mist.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Me, at the top of the hill.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonCongratulations!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lynda ThompsonWell done, and with an injury, too!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

With the infamous climb conquered, my reward was the 10-mile descent, with a few ups and downs, to the coast.  There were two long (and fun) downhill runs of at least 3 miles each that tested my cornering skills. 

On the way down, this house with Halloween decorations in the windows caught my eye.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Emerging from the woods to the ocean view felt dramatic and sudden when it happened. Of course, this is where the real climbing began — or so it seemed to me, as Hwy 1 twisted and rolled its way south. In many places there is little to no shoulder, but fortunately the traffic was light, and drivers were mostly patient with the bicyclists on the road. 

I stopped to eat my lunch at one of the many parks in the Westport area, sitting at the edge of a cliff and drinking in the sounds and smells of the sea. 

The road between Westport and Fort Bragg.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ocean view just north of Westport.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The view from my lunch stop in Westport.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rocks north of Fort Bragg.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Even though it was a fairly short day, mileage wise, bu the time I arrived at our camp at Mackerricher state park (technically in Cleone, just north of Fort Bragg), I felt exhausted and ready to relax. 

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 992 miles (1,596 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat job! Steady climbs are tough but I think the rolling climbs along the coast are harder! Fortunately, I have very low gears.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago