Day 19 - Brookings to Prairie Creek - Riding the California Dream - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2022

Day 19 - Brookings to Prairie Creek

Raindrops keep falling on my head, and oh what redwoods!

Well, I knew we were due for rain at some point, and here it was. We awoke to a light, but steady rain. 

The group’s breakfast and map meeting was held under the 2nd floor walkway at the motel. After that, I said my goodbyes to Rich and launched my bike into the rain, which lasted until we were well south of Crescent City. 

Our leader, Bekah, sitting in the back of the trailer in the parking lot, talking about the route we would follow.
Heart 1 Comment 0

For that reason, I don’t have a lot of pictures of the early morning, and the GoPro wasn’t used until the rain had mostly cleared. For what it’s worth, here is today’s video compilation. 


In spite of the rain, or maybe because of it, I felt a sense of joy in the adventure.

 It was a day of long climbs, starting with the long five mile hill just south of Crescent City, rising approximately 1,200 feet. But  the resulting ocean views were worth the effort. Riding along the ocean filled my heart with such elation — I wished I could hold onto it forever. Pictures just can’t capture the majesty and power of the sea.  

I’m spite of the clouds the light was beautiful, cast along the waves.
Heart 6 Comment 0
We stopped for lunch at a park bench in Crescent City, overlooking the light house.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Flocks of sea gulls and pelicans were bathing in the water of this inlet.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Of course, I HAD to stop at the famous Trees of Mystery. I have driven past this place many times in my life and finally had a chance to check it out. Very touristy and kitschy, but still fun. I wished I had more time to explore, but we had miles to go before dark.  

Heart 0 Comment 0
A colorful Paul Bunyan statue dominates the entrance.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Me, in front of the “elephant tree.”
Heart 5 Comment 0

Bernice and I climbed the steps to the bridges suspended high above the ground, from tree to tree. This really appealed to the child in me.  

Looking down from the first level.
Heart 4 Comment 0
One of the many bridges.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The spiral staircase leading back down the trail of bridges.
Heart 4 Comment 0

On our way again, I noticed the amazing cloud patterns. 

Heart 5 Comment 0

Finally, we entered the road to the park. Only 6 miles to go. 

The great redwoods on the road through the park inspire awe.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Bernice and I arrived at the camp at around 5:45, in time to get our tents set up and showered before dinner 

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 798 miles (1,284 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonBeautiful photos and videos! You really are a good sport about the rain.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Rachael AndersonThanks again. I suppose I am just really thankful I am here and able to cycle through this beautiful part of the world.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lynda ThompsonNice that you had a pal, Bernice, to join you on your exploration today. Do you have cycling shoes you walk in or take along an extra pair? As usual, looks like you made the most of your day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago