Getting to Sacramento - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

Getting to Sacramento

The trip started on the afternoon of April 28 when my wife drove me 55 miles north to Eugene, Oregon to board an AMTRAK train for a 13-hour overnight ride to Sacramento, California. Sitting in a chair all night is no fun, but it's a cheap way to get to Sacramento. The ticket cost $58, plus $5 for the bike and $15 for the bike box.

It's reassuring to see my boxed bicycle on the luggage cart.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Boarding the train in Eugene, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lounge car offers the best view.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was snowing outside while I ate dinner in the dining car.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived at the Sacramento AMTRAK station at 6AM and was ready to ride by 7AM when Bil showed up.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0