Day 9: Spencer hot spring to Eureka - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2010

Day 9: Spencer hot spring to Eureka

The temperature was definitely below freezing overnight. Fortunately, sun started to shine on the tent at 6:30. I was on the road at 9:50 after a soak in the clean hot tub down the hill. First was 6.5 miles of gravel heading north to US50. Relatively flat, with an incredible view of the Toiyabe range to my left and behind me.

Rear view leaving Spencer hot spring. I think this picture captures the essence of the Basin and Range province.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Back on pavement US 50 gently climbs 600 feet to Hickison summit. The main attraction is still in the rearview mirror, though. The Toiyabe range seems to demand my attention.

Rear view from US 50.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltPretty pictures with the snow dusted on the mountains in the background. :)
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Last (partial) view of the Toiyabe range.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a fairly easy day. Only one minor summit, then a very long basin. Strong tailwind for most of the day. The highway goes around the Monitor range rather than over it.

Surprise! Another basin.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I go around (not over) the Monitor range.
Heart 0 Comment 0

West of Eureka I was passed by a touring cyclist, an unemployed chef riding from San Francisco to Brooklyn. Then a couple minutes later I encountered two westbound cyclists on a tour from Cedar City to San Francisco to Los Angeles. 4 touring cyclists randomly met on US 50 in the middle of nowhere. I don't envy the guys going west into the wind.

Chance encounter with 3 touring cyclists, 2 westbound, 1 eastbound.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The wind shifted late in the day giving me a headwind for the last 10 miles to Eureka (population 650, elevation 6481 feet). I passed the big mine that is the main employer in town.

Copper mine that is the main source of Eureka's prosperity.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eureka is a prosperous mining town. Many new F-250 pickup trucks. Gold and copper prices are high. I got a room for $52 at the Sundown Lodge. A 3rd floor room overlooking the main downtown business strip. Dirk is staying here too. I put my bike in Dirk's ground floor room because it's a tight fit in the stairway. Late at night there was a lot of commotion outside the Western nightclub across the street. It's Friday night...

Today was NOT a warm day. High in the low 60's with a strong west wind most of the time. Going east, the result is that I'm often warm while riding with the tailwind, but cold when I stop in the wind. As usual, there is no shelter and no services between towns.

Eureka, Nevada. A prosperous mining town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eureka, Nevada.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Distance: 61.7 mi. (99 km) 6.5 miles on gravel

Climbing: 1900 ft. (575 m)

Average speed: 10 mph (16 km/h)

Maximum speed: 35 mph (56 km/h)

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 455 miles (732 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0