Day 61: Estes Park to Loveland - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2010

Day 61: Estes Park to Loveland

Today I go down the Big Thompson river to end the bike tour in Loveland. Most of today's ride is in Big Thompson canyon. I left the campground at 8:30. It was already sunny and warm. Back into Estes Park along the Big Thompson river.

Big Thompson river in Estes Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped for a while to look around downtown Estes Park. It's a quiet Monday morning. Quite a contrast compared to when I arrived on Saturday afternoon.

Downtown Estes Park.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Fall River goes through downtown Estes Park. There are several walkways and pedestrian plazas along the shady river. Very nice.

Fall river in downtown Estes Park.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Leaving Estes Park I climbed a small hill before descending to Lake Estes. I don't think it's named after me.

Leaving Estes Park on US 34.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lake Estes.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGreat picture of Lake Estes, with the reflection of the mountains! :)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

After Lake Estes the road promptly enters Big Thompson canyon. I had heard that the canyon is very scenic, but I was disappointed to see so many houses in the canyon. The houses spoil the view.

Big Thompson canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big Thompson canyon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After 20 miles US 34 leaves Big Thompson canyon and crosses some rolling hills on the way to Loveland. At one point a fault line is clearly visible.

Crossing a fault line on the way to Loveland.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Near Loveland.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I crossed the Big Thompson river for the last time. Now the river is flat water in a wide forested valley. I'm east of the Rocky mountains now. This scene looks like it could be in the eastern U.S. I was hoping for wide open views of the Great Plains, but foothills and trees blocked the view. I guess I would have to go a bit farther east to see an unbroken view of the Great Plains.

The Big Thompson river is in the Great Plains now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

US 34 becomes Eisenhower Boulevard when entering the Loveland city limits. Loveland has a population of 50,608, the biggest city I've seen since Carson City on day 4 of this tour. The elevation is 4982 feet. I haven't been that low since the day I left Moab, Utah. West of downtown I was surprised to see a large lake in the middle of town. Looking west across Lake Loveland I had my final view of Rocky Mountain national park in the distance.

Lake Loveland is in the middle of the city of Loveland.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The bike tour ended unceremoniously at 12:15 PM in downtown Loveland at a used car lot that is also a Hertz car rental agency.

Distance: 33 mi. (52.8 km)

Climbing: 500 ft. (152 m)

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 2,815 miles (4,530 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0