Day 57: Green Mountain reservoir to Granby - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2010

Day 57: Green Mountain reservoir to Granby

A photo essay.

Green Mountain reservoir. Beautiful, but mosquitoes swarmed as I pedaled on the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking southwest across the lake. There's a road on the other side of the lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back (south) towards Breckenridge and Hoosier pass. I came through those mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking ahead, downstream along the Blue river to Kremmling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Kremmling and my long-lost friend the Colorado river. I last saw the Colorado river in Moab, Utah.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I will follow the Colorado river up to its headwaters in the Front Range of the Rocky mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had an early lunch at a Mexican restaurant in Kremmling. Afterwards I stopped at a city park with this attack helicopter in a menacing pose.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hills are semi-arid but the riparian zone is lush.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking downstream (west) towards the Pacific ocean.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Upstream through a gorge just west of the town of Hot Sulphur Springs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hot spring resort is open, but most every other business in town appears to be closed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After the gorge the valley opens up again with impressive rock escarpments to the north.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eventually I have a partial view of the Front Range. Nearby hills block much of the view. The high temperature was in the upper 80's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colorado river near Granby.
Heart 0 Comment 0
To avoid mosquitoes I stayed at a cheap motel in Granby. It's an okay place, but not as charming as many towns I've seen on this tour.I saw two touring bikes outside a restaurant in Granby. Both Extracycles with 4 rear panniers. On the road I saw two westbound touring cyclists on mountain bikes with trailers.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Distance: 55.3 mi. (88.5 km)

Climbing: 2200 ft. (667 m)

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 2,673 miles (4,302 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0