Day 49: Lake City to Palisade campground - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2010

Day 49: Lake City to Palisade campground

It was clear and the temperature got down to 36F overnight. Lake City is the place for cool mountain weather. I got on the road before 9, heading upstream along the Lake Fork Gunnison river.

Lake Fork Gunnison river near Lake City.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I turned off for a 3-mile round trip to see Lake San Cristobal. It's the namesake lake of Lake City. I didn't know there would be an even better view later.

Lake San Cristobal. The namesake of Lake City.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Less than 5 miles from Lake City highway 149 abruptly turns away from the river and climbs steeply to Slumgullion Pass. 900 feet up the climb is a roadside scenic turnout with great views of the lake below.

Looking back towards Lake City.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lake San Cristobal from 900 feet above.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The forest is looking good in this area. No pine beetle infestation.

I don't know the purpose of these signs. Only in Colorado.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big mountains to the north.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was surprised at how vigorous the forest looks at the summit. I assumed it would be at or near treeline. Farther north in Rocky Mountain national park I will be above treeline at this elevation.

Highest point so far... I was surprised that the trees were so tall and vigorous at this elevation.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Slumgullion Summit is 2900 feet higher than Lake City. After the summit the road descends 1100 feet, then climbs 450 feet to Spring Creek pass.

Beautiful alpine forest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
First of 3 crossings of the continental divide.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Spring Creek pass is the first of 3 places I will cross the continental divide. Now I'm in the Rio Grande watershed where water flows to the Gulf of Mexico. The road descends for a long time down to the Rio Grande. Then it's nearly level as the road follows the gentle river downstream.

Looking towards the headwaters of the Rio Grande.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Descending to the Rio Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farm on the other side of the Rio Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road turns north for the last 10 miles to Creede, giving me a strong headwind. It's an interesting looking historic mining town at the mouth of a canyon. But there is no campground in town. I didn't want to stay at an expensive bed & breakfast. I'm very tired, but reluctantly went on.

Creede.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Creede the road turns southeast along the river. So it was gentle downstream with a tailwind. Easy miles with the sun behind my back.

The Rio Grande flows to the Atlantic ocean. The railroad is long abandoned.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 8 PM I arrived at the Palisade Forest Service campground 20 miles east of Creede. $16. It's on the river with a view of big cliffs (palisades) to the northeast. I can hear the Rio Grande from my tent. The elevation is 8400 feet, nearly as high as Lake City but the evening is much warmer here on the edge of the desert.

Palisades above the Rio Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a long hard day. Longer than I wanted it to be. I felt fine at the end of the day but I need a rest tomorrow...

Distance: 73 mi. (117 km)

Climbing: 5300 ft. (1606 m)

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 2,266 miles (3,647 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0