Day 34: Hanksville to Green River - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2010

Day 34: Hanksville to Green River

Today I travel from Hankville to Green River across a big empty spot on the map. No services whatsoever. I don't expect the scenery to be spectacular.

I was up at 7 (sun shone early) and on the road before 9, after doing several chores. It was sunny and warm early in the morning but became overcast about the time I got on the road.

Looking west towards Capitol Reef. A flock of birds (starlings?) fly around me to defend their nest under the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back (south) towards Hanksville and the Henry mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Going north, highway 24 climbs gradually. Shortly after leaving Hanksville I had new company. Sand flies! They swarmed around me nearly all the time. I had to go at least 11 mph to outpace them, but that was impossible when going uphill. So I did a lot of swatting while riding.

Isolated outcroppings of red rock in the desert.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

The main scenic view is of Waterpocket Fold in the distance to my left. Always there, but far away and not super impressive. Mostly it was just a boring ride through the desert on a relentlessly straight road. Very little traffic, though.

Wide view of Waterpocket Fold.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road is straight and boring for most of the day.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today I turned away from the Adventure Cycling Western Express route, so I was surprised to encounter 3 southbound touring cyclists who are riding from Moab to Flagstaff via the North Rim.

Mature cyclists from Phoenix doing a tour from Moab to Flagstaff via the North Rim.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice you met some touring cyclists while out on the flat boring road! :) I'm sure you had a nice time chatting!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago

The landscape becomes more interesting as I get close to I-70, where highway 24 dead-ends.

A little change in scenery near I-70.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode 12 miles east on I-70 to the Green River exit. It's legal and a rumble strip separates me from the trucks. So it wasn't too bad, especially with a brisk tailwind.

Dramatic view of Waterpocket Fold from a hilltop on I-70.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Green River (population 973, elevation 4078 ft) I got a campsite at Green River State Park. Strangely, the park only has 500 feet of river frontage and is surrounded by a golf course. My campsite is only a few feet away from a fairway. The area is quite lush with trees and muddy over-irrigated grass. It was surprisingly humid and buggy.

Green River State Park. This scene could almost be in the eastern U.S.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Green River is the largest tributary of the Colorado river. It has about the same flow as the Colorado river a few miles to the east. 19,000 cfs while I was there.

In the evening I had dinner at Ray's Tavern. Quite good. Overall, Green River is a very depressed town. Many boarded up businesses.

I had dinner at Ray's Tavern, one of the few thriving businesses in Green River.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today I spent the entire day at relatively low elevations, but the high temperature was only 85F because of the clouds. The wind blew from the southwest, so once again it was a tailwind all day.

Today was NOT the highlight of the tour. Boring scenery. Few interesting distractions. Terrible sand flies.

Distance: 63 mi. (101 km)

Climbing: 1700 ft. (515 m)

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 1,535 miles (2,470 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltHaving to deal with pesky sand flies sounds awful! As bad as mosquitoes!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago