Day 32: Touring Capitol Reef National Park - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2010

Day 32: Touring Capitol Reef National Park

I got up at 7 to register for my campsite immediately after it was vacated by the folks who paid for it last night. Now it's legitimately mine. $10. It was cold until 8 when the sun rose above the "reef". I got on the road at 8:50 on the unloaded bike heading south on the scenic drive. The reef is to my east, and I'm looking into the sun when looking at the reef. It will look much better when I return in the afternoon. So I continued nonstop on the Scenic Drive with one small hill and one large hill. After 7 miles the pavement ends and a well graded gravel road continues 2.3 miles into Capitol Gorge. Most of the gorge was cool and shady.

Biking into Capitol Gorge in the cool morning shadows.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road ends at two trailheads and I plan to hike both trails. First I hiked the Capitol Gorge trail which is by far the most popular. It goes along the wash inside the gorge to an area with a large amount of "pioneer graffiti". This gorge was a wagon road before a flood-proof road was built along the Fremont river. Early settlers carved their name in the wall when passing through.

Pioneer graffiti in the Capitol Gorge narrows. This was once the wagon road to Fruita.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The gorge itself is pretty impressive as well. Much of the hiking is in the shade.

Trail in Capitol Gorge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a long rest in the shady shelter at the trailhead, I started the next hike to the Golden Throne. This hike climbs 800 feet and dead-ends after 2 miles at a view of the Golden Throne. It has good views along the way as well.

View of the road from the Golden Throne trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Golden Throne trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not-very-impressive view of the Golden Throne from the end of the trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flowers along the Golden Throne trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Overall the trail was a disappointment. The view at the end of the trail was not as spectacular as many views on the Scenic Drive. But I really enjoyed the ride back to the campground on the scenic drive. Sun behind me. Tailwind. Downhill trend. Excellent sun angle. All the rocks ahead of me and to the right were in good sun.

Leaving Capitol Gorge in the hot afternoon sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Capitol Reef Scenic Drive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the scenic drive.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The scenic drive summit offers an expansive view of Waterpocket Fold.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The colors are great in the afternoon sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The campground is in the Fruita historic district. There are several historic structures remaining from the original Mormon fruit-growing community. Blacksmith shop. School. Orchards. An old house is now a bakery.

Recently restored old barn in Fruita.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old orchard in Fruita.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got back to the campground at 2:45, so I had plenty of time to rest and relax. Pie a la mode at the bakery. Make a shower (showered in the middle of an orchard). Listen to screaming kids in every direction. Holiday weekend at the park...

Capitol Reef National Park has no grocery store, so I'm glad I had a large supply of food when I arrived. I will be nearly out of food by the time I get to Hanksville tomorrow.

Today had a high of 85F which is about normal. Very pleasant overall.

Distance: 22.6 mi. (36 km)

Climbing: 1531 ft. (464 m)

Average Speed: 9.2 mph 14.7 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 35 mph (56 km/h)

Hiked 6 mi. (9.6 km)

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 1,430 miles (2,301 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0