Day 20: Kanab to Jacob Lake, Arizona - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2010

Day 20: Kanab to Jacob Lake, Arizona

The temperature got down to 50F overnight. Very pleasant. On my way out of Kanab I found an optometrist and got a new pair of clip-on sunglasses. I lost my old ones 3 days ago. The cost was triple what it would be at WalMart, but that's not an option here.

Downtown Kanab has a view of red rocks to the north.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I crossed the Utah/Arizona state line 4 miles south of Kanab. On the Arizona side is the town of Fredonia which is as dead as can be. Nearly every business is closed. I'm sure glad I stayed in Kanab.

Welcome...but don't forget your immigration papers!
Heart 0 Comment 0

At Fredonia I turned onto US 89A to Jacob Lake. Traffic was very light, but now there is no shoulder. Behind me to the north it was mostly sunny, but the sky was very gray ahead of me, above the Kaibab Plateau. The Kaibab Plateau is obviously very large and is several thousand feet higher than Kanab. It seems to be all forested. Scenery wasn't really super spectacular, but it was interesting to watch the vegetation change as I climbed up the plateau. First was mostly sagebrush and rabbit brush. Then junipers at about 6000 feet. Then pinyons at about 6500 feet. Then ponderosa pines at 7000 feet. No more panoramic views after getting into tall trees.

The weather was much cooler and cloudier than the previous 3 days. The temperature dropped rapidly as I gained elevation and the sky became more overcast. Down to about 50F by the time I got to Jacob Lake. And the strong wind made it feel colder still. Fortunately it never rained more than just a few sprinkles.

Gray skies ahead above the Kaibab plateau.
Heart 0 Comment 0
National Forest begins when junipers become widespread.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at the distant Vermillion cliffs. I'll see them up close in a couple days.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now in the Piñon zone.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now in the ponderosa pine zone. Recently thinned near the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacob Lake (7925 feet elevation) isn't really a town. It's mostly just a store/cafe/motel adjacent to a ranger station. I camped at the large Forest Service campground across the road. And 2 miles away is an RV park. That's it.

This is the entire town of Jacob Lake. Picture taken 2 days later when it was sunny.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ate dinner at the busy cafe which had very slow service. They just opened for the season 3 days ago and the staff still needs practice. After dinner I went inside my tent to escape the wind, and fell asleep at 7 PM. Today's distance wasn't huge but it was nearly all uphill. And the colder weather seems to sap my energy.

Distance: 43.1 mi. (69 km)

Climbing: 3839 ft. (1163 m)

Average Speed: 7.8 mph (12.5 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 34.5 mph (55 km/h)

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 953 miles (1,534 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0