Day 13: Waiting for better weather - Sacramento to Loveland via 11 National Parks 2010 - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2010

Day 13: Waiting for better weather

The next segment I need to ride is 84 miles with 3 ranges to cross. No services and no shelter at all. No place to escape the 30 mph northwest wind. The rain would surely turn to snow on all 3 of the passes.

So I will spend the day in the motel room. No TV, no phone. I made a list of things to do. Mend clothes, shave, wash clothes, clean chain, pump tires, inspect bike, etc. Late in the afternoon it cleared up a bit and I walked to the visitor center. But it closed at 2 PM!

I made dinner in my room. Later I went to the cafe and had a long Internet phone call with my wife using Skype on my Nokia N810 Internet Tablet. The area has no cell phone service but the cafe has good wireless Internet.

Electrolux Cafe in Baker, Nevada.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Namesake of the Electrolux cafe. The Electrolux, not Polygamy Porter!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw this 8-foot pipe on display in several places. Part of a campaign to stop Las Vegas from stealing ground water from distant parts of Nevada.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Baker, Nevada after a storm.
Heart 1 Comment 0

0 miles on the bike

walked 1 or 2 miles

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0