Yangon - Rangoon - February in Burma - CycleBlaze

Yangon - Rangoon

the old capital

Straight through immigration... sort out my bike.... change into my cycling shorts and sandals.... off I go. Simple. 

It's not too far from the airport into Rangoon, mostly going gently downhill with traffic seeming okay, until I get closer to the actual center, where I've pre-booked a cheap room in a guesthouse. 

As luck would have it, I find the humble place quickly and then go to mooch around, getting a feel of the streets, which look pretty much what I expected. It's hot; there's a jumble of old vehicles; the tarmac is a little potholed; vendors are selling all kinds of stuff. 

Yangon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Day 2 is when I do the official sightseeing, with the old capital's huge Shwedagon Paya top of the list. This is the most sacred Buddhist site in the country and is something like 2,500 years old. 

After locking my bike up at the steps near the entrance and crossing my fingers, I'm barely through the gate when a young guide approaches. Yes, I could wander around by myself, but spending some cash is what I'm here for and he seems genuine and walks me to the best places, giving me a running commentary and pointing out spots which are best for photos.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The whole complex is obviously been well cared for, as it actually looks new, with religious bling on a grand scale. Layers and layers of gold leaf have been applied on a daily basis, with devotees paying for thin sheets to show faith. 

The ride back to my room is interspersed with stops to take more snaps, but with electricity a bit dodgy, I'm in bed pretty early. The real fun is going to start in the morning when I hit the road.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0