Bagan Temples - February in Burma - CycleBlaze

Bagan Temples

bus to Mandalay

Bagan is the sort of place incarcerated democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi no doubt had in mind when she said tourists shouldn't visit Burma. Nevertheless, it's by far the country's biggest draw and is featured in the glossy brochures usually read by high-end tourists - mainly from Europe and the States, but also local ones.

Bagan
Heart 1 Comment 0
Having my spokes adjusted
Heart 1 Comment 0

The hundreds of ancient temples dotted around the vast plain by the Ayeyarwady River are certainly a must-see and cycling is best way to get around. 

I have to pay an entrance fee - money to the government - but then two teenage boys on study bikes offer to be my guide - obviously looking to make a few kyat - and I gladly accept.

Heart 2 Comment 0

The two youngsters lead the way to the area's prime spot, which ends up being a four-kilometer slog across sandy terrain with my front wheel having a mind of its own. 

I'm rewarded with one of the biggest temples, a 12th century stone paya decorated from top to bottom with ornate carvings and once up on the flat roof, the setting sun gently illuminates the pointed tops of countless other amazing stupas and temples spread out over 40 square kilometers of arid landscape. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

The boys then guide me back as it gets dark and find me a humble guesthouse - a very cheap, basic one - and in the morning I ride around looking at more stupas before deciding to put my bike on a bus and zip to Mandalay. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

The mountains are beckoning...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0