Dijon and home - Burgundy Buzz - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2022 to June 2, 2022

Dijon and home

Our car was in Beaune where we started the tour, not in Dijon. We didn't want to bike the same route along the canal that we had done at the beginning of our tour, and I didn't have time for it either. At home I would only have two days to get reorganized before I left for a five-day tai chi seminar. 

The simple plan was for Janos to take the train to Beaune, get the car which would hopefully still be waiting where he left it, and pick me up in Dijon. It all worked as planned, no one wanted our old jaloppy, and he was back by eleven. There was even a fine drizzle as we drove away and we were thankful that we had such good luck the day before.

Bye bye, Dijon!
Heart 3 Comment 0

The ride home was uneventful, we broke it up in two stages, again with an overnight in Rastatt at a good hotel with a breakfast that would warm the heart of all cyclists. We were back in Germany. When we left the autobahn looking for a gas station we saw perfectly paved bicycle paths next to the roads. But no, that's not quite the same as riding narrow country roads that have been there for centuries and follow the contours of the land.

While I am working on my tai chi, Janos has planned a little solo tour for himself after he drops me off. I am hoping the predicted thunder storms don't materialize - and he might even write a journal.

I wish I had been able to keep up with my journal. By the time I got around to writing, I had forgotten many of the details that might make the narrative more lively. But the further I got behind, the harder it was to get started again. Now I finally have time to catch up on comments and reading what other CycleBlazers are up to.

Thanks for reading along and let's see what tours are waiting to transpire in 2022!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Rich Harrell
Great everything worked out so well -- great tour, great friends, and a happy ending.

"old jalopy" !!!! I'd take that Skoda any day!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich HarrellThanks, Rich!
Our Skoda has seen better days...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonGreat journal! I look forward to to cycling together again in the future!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonThanks again, Suzanne. It was a wonderful experience for us sharing this time with you, János and Susan. Glad to see you made it safely home.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonThanks, Rachael! Our paths are sure to cross again!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
It was great meeting you. Hopefully, we’ll do that again sometime.

Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Keith KleinMany reasos to return to Burgundy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonMany thanks to you and Rachael for creating this opportunity for us all!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierI so enjoyed following along. Great pictures, too!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich FrasierThanks for followin, Rich! Looking forward to what you are up to next.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyBiking, then Tai Chi, quite the life! Lucky gal! Great blog, thanks for sharing, enjoy reading and seeing your wonderful pictures! Thanks
Reply to this comment
1 year ago