Three Rivers, CA - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2018

Three Rivers, CA

Riding 28 km without a chain

Another early start and by lunch I was in Three Rivers. The mountains, rivers and lakes draws a lot of tourists to this area. I asked at a campsite if they had a special rate for cyclists. No, pitches start at $60.

During lunch, a light drizzle started. This motivate me to get back on the bike. The road consistently ascends at  8 %, so the drizzle was very welcoming.

Some of my sprockets (gears) have been making knocking sounds for the last few days and the problem was getting worse. Then, after climbing more than 1200 meter (4000 feet), the bicycle broke.

The casette was skew and the chain jumped from gear to gear. The casette no longer free wheeled around the axle.

I was very disappointed that I had to turn around when I was so close to the giant trees. But I had no choice.

I removed the chain and headed down hill. Only on a few occasions did I have to get off and walk.

Back in Three Rivers, I camped at Kaweah Oaks. They pride themselves as being cyclist centric.

I suspect most of this water is for agricultural purposes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A dry patch under the tree.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rock overhang
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is visible for much of the ascent
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 133 km (83 miles)
Total: 3,578 km (2,222 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bob MageeRather than Walmart, Craigslist would be better for finding a bike. It would take more time and effort.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago