The perfect day visit to Sequoia National Park - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2018

The perfect day visit to Sequoia National Park

After Thursday's disaster, I decided to take the bus from Visalia to the park. (Note that you can only reserve these buses online and they are often full, so the earlier you book, the better. You can't book a space for your bicycle, but you can attach a note to your booking).

Once at the top, I did visited all the popular sights, some of them by bicycle, some of them with the free shuttle buses.

Then I cycled down all the way to Three Rivers. The air got hotter as I descended, but I used so little energy that the heat was bearable.

When I reached Kaweah Oaks Campground, I stopped to weigh my options. Google Maps showed that the county bus will come by soon. So, rather than spending the night, I took the bus back to Visalia. At only $2, it's a real bargain.

This crow looked so majestic taking off in the wind
Heart 0 Comment 0
The walk way up to Moro Rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tunnel tree
Heart 1 Comment 0
General Sherman is by some measures the largest living organism know to man.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sun roof in the shuttle bus.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The traffic island on the main highway in the park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tunnel Rock
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 3,664 km (2,275 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0