Seminole, AL - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

October 12, 2018

Seminole, AL

I cycled to the bus station, boxed my bike and checked in. Grey Hound wanted an additional $30 for the bicycle. I was furious, but relented. I didn't pay this in Los Angeles or in Cedar City!

The bus only took me to Mobile, Alabama and I decided to cycle the rest of the way to the disaster area. I made good progress, but only made it half way before night fall.

I feel sorry for some of my fellow bus passengers: They had valid tickets to destinations in Florida, but they were left stranded in Mobile. The bus driver just said that Florida is "cordoned off". But this is contradicted by news reports.

There is a proper bicycle route heading east of of Mobile. The road has a good shoulder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a military museum on my way. This is the USS Alabama.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lot of hardware is visible from the parking lot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Officially, US90 is a bicycle route. But the shoulder in some sections is very narrow. And strips has been scraped into it to warn drivers that they are on the shoulder. They are not nice to cycle on, forcing me into the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 86 km (53 miles)
Total: 9,330 km (5,794 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0