Is it wise ? - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2018

Is it wise ?

Then I got the US visa, they didn't ask for any supporting documents or itinerary.

So I didn't expect any serious questions at immigration after I landed at JFK. But the official quickly concluded that my trip was unusual. At one point he even asked "Is it wise to be traveling for so long ?"

I responded by referring to my previous trips.

But he wanted yes or no. So I said yes.

After a few more questions, he escalated my case. The next guy quickly saw my view and stamped my passport for six months. Even after that, a third official asked me a bunch of questions as I was passing her in the hall. But they all realized that I'm just a harmless crazy guy on a bike.

At the baggage claim, I paid $6 to rent a trolley. Expensive, but I had no choice.

I went outside and assembled my bicycle.

Then I looked for a route out, but found only expressways. And OpenStreetMap and Google Maps were both unable to find a bicycle route.

With the help of some locals, I discovered that the air train to Lefferts Boulevard was the way out (and was free and didn't require a metro card).

Then it was a short ride to my Warm Showers host.

This statue is at the airport in Doha. It's very fitting, given how jetlagged most travelers are.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Greenland looked so beautiful from the air.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Water gushed from this fire hydrant, almost like in the movies.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 km (11 miles)
Total: 18 km (11 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0