Angeles National Forest, CA - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2018

Angeles National Forest, CA

I woke up early and asked headed towards Mount Wilson. Google said it should take 5 or 6 hours.

But the last part of the planned route was up a steep and narrow hiking trail. So I had to treat to suburban Pasadena.

Then I did some research on the Internet and found that the Mount Wilson Toll Road may work. It was a Jeep track with a consistent 10% gradient. It was difficult on my loaded Walmart bicycle with slicks. And it was very hot, so I took frequent breaks. Even casual hikers overtook me.

The sun set when I was only halfway up the mountain. Fortunately I was at the Henninger Flats campground where I camped. There was no one at reception, so I camped for free.

Nearly all spacecraft that left Earth orbit where designed and operated by these guys.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 km (37 miles)
Total: 3,086 km (1,916 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0