Why Am I Doing This?: (Must You Ask This Question?) - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

Why Am I Doing This?: (Must You Ask This Question?)

"The mother of stupidity is always pregnant." (old Sicilian saying)

Why would a grown man do something like this? And not just a grown man, but an "older" guy who could choose to do many things much less challenging than this? I was asked similar questions a lot prior to my departure. Most folks just remained silent, assuming that their long-held beliefs about my mental instability were finally being proven correct.

The "why" question is always the hardest to answer. Maybe it's a mid-life crisis? I hope so, since I'm 62 years old and that means I will live to be 124. But I'm too old for a mid-life crisis, so that's not it.

I could be trite and say "if you have to ask, you can't possibly understand." And really, that's not far from true, and explains it about as well as can be done. People fall into 2 categories with regards to the "why" issue; either they can't understand why I'm doing this and think I'm crazy, or they do understand and wish they were going with me.

Two years ago I had an issue with my left heel that resulted in 2 surgeries that completely removed all the soft tissue from the bottom of my heel, leaving me with a hole where my heel once was. Modern medicine is pretty impressive, and over the course of several months and the use of vacuum technology my heel tissue grew back to normal. Prior to the surgeries, I was told that I would likely need a cane to assist me with walking. Well, I'm a lucky fellow cause I don't need a cane and I get around just fine, thank you. During the months that I was recuperating from the surgeries, I decided to take this little adventure. After all, it's not going to get any easier as I age.

So then, "why" am I riding a bike on this crazy journey of approximately 4300 miles? Maybe we can figure out the "why" together as I update this journal. Maybe it's because I just don't have time to walk it...

Why Not; What Have I Got to Lose?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0