What Am I Doing?: Bicycle Tour From Virginia to Colorado, Then From Oregon to Colorado; Both Ends to the Middle - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

What Am I Doing?: Bicycle Tour From Virginia to Colorado, Then From Oregon to Colorado; Both Ends to the Middle

The Transamerica Bicycle Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm departing Yorktown, VA and heading west on a route known as the Transamerica Trail. It's not really a trail, just a mapped route that uses scenic low traffic roads as much as possible. This route was first established during the nation's bicentennial in 1976, and has been ridden by thousands of cyclists in the 39 years since. But there's only one of me and I've never done anything quite like this, so it's still a unique undertaking from my perspective.

I'm going to ride about 1/2 of the TransAm on the first half of the journey as I travel from the Atlantic coast to wherever I end up in Colorado. Afterwards, I will return to work for a couple of months to keep up with my projects and get things caught up, and then: I plan to ride the other half of the TransAm! My intent is to ride the 2nd half from the west coast back to the point in Colorado where I ended the first half; in other words, I plan to ride it all by doing "both ends to the middle." A lot of things can happen between now and then, so I'm not taking it for granted that the 2nd half will actually happen, but that's the goal I'm shooting for. In the meantime, check back regularly for updates.

The above paragraphs were written while I was in the process of undertaking this journey, and were written so that others could follow along in real time as things happened. Prior to completing this journey, I regularly updated the maps below and kept them in a section titled "Where Am I Now?" so that readers could follow along with my progress. Since the journey is now complete, it no longer seems appropriate to maintain that section, so I have moved those maps to this section. Following is the map and profile that shows the route I traveled on the first half. I was traveling east to west, from Virginia to Colorado, on that half.

Map of the First Half of my Continental Crossing (completed in May-June 2015)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Below is the map and profile that shows the route I traveled on the 2nd half of my journey. To complete my "both ends to the middle' journey, I was traveling west to east, from Oregon to Colorado, on the second half.

Route for the Second Half of my "Both Ends to the Middle" Continental Crossing (completed in Aug - Sept 2015)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0