Day 70: Hot Sulphur Springs to Silverthorne, CO; Hoosier Pass, I'm Coming For You - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2015

Day 70: Hot Sulphur Springs to Silverthorne, CO; Hoosier Pass, I'm Coming For You

Hot Sulphur Springs to Silverthorne, CO
Heart 0 Comment 0

Notes:

1.) You can leave a message for me by clicking on the comment icon towards the bottom of the page (you must be registered with the site, but it's quick and easy to do so). I enjoy getting messages from readers.

2.) Climbing Today: 2,887 ft -- Total So Far; 166,091 ft

3.) Average Speed While Biking Today: 9.9 mph

4.) Mechanical Issues Today: none

5.) miles Remaining to Canon City: about 182

6.) Miles Traveled to Date on This Half of the Journey: 1,818

7.) Money Found Today: 0

8.) Total Money Found: $1.10 (Will I find enough to buy a cup of coffee?)

9.) Current BAR (Bicycle Altitude Record): 9,683 feet, Willow Creek Pass

It was very cold this morning and my fingers were chilled after only a few minutes of riding. But it was mostly downhill to Kremmling, and I was thinking that would be a good place to stop for second breakfast. I told Harvey "I'm hungry. Let's roll on to Kremmling." Harvey replied "I'm hungry too, let's eat some pavement!" And we rolled off rather briskly.

I think I found out what they do with all the sawdust. They make pressed wood products with it.

What They Do With The Sawdust; Pressed Wood Products
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a bit of fog on the Colorado River this morning.

Early Morning Fog On The Colorado River
Heart 0 Comment 0

Right after I snapped the above picture, a fox crossed the road diagonally ahead of me with his back to me. He never saw me. I was rolling slow and reached for my camera while the bike was still rolling. But just then, a car came around the curve and the fox quickly scurried off into the bush. Oh well, there will be no fox photos today, so how about a duck instead.

Just A Duck Enjoying The Early Morning Stillness
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had a great breakfast in Kremmling at the Moose café and rolled on. These signs warning of road construction ahead were a bit frightening, since I really needed to take this road or else the detour would put me way behind schedule.

How Rough Can It Be?
Heart 0 Comment 0
What About Bicycles?
Heart 0 Comment 0
If Motorcycles Need Special Caution, What About Bicycles?
Heart 0 Comment 0

The signs had warned of a potential 45 minute delay, but I had no choice other than to travel this road. The road was a bit rough, and I had to ride a lot in gravel.

It Was Only A Little Rough, A Few Potholes To Dodge
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was grateful for having equipped Harvey with 38mm tires, as the wider tires handled gravel and dirt conditions much better than skinnier road tires would have. There were 2 spots where the traffic was held up, and I was the first in line at the last one. Traffic was being stopped on both ends of a 1/4 mile section while work was being done in the middle forcing a 1-lane situation. The fellow holding the stop sign and I chatted a bit, and then he got a radio call from the gal on the other end who said that he should let his side go first. I told him to tell her that the crazy old guy on a bicycle would lead the way, and she laughed and said "Sure, why not." So when it was clear to go, I rolled off with a mile-long line of vehicles following me until we cleared the 1/4 mile work area and I could move over and let traffic pass. When I reached that point I pumped my fist in the air like someone winning a Tour de France stage. Yeah, life was just grand.

Traffic Was Delayed At 2 Locations Along The 6-Mile Unpaved Construction Zone
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't know, this just seemed a little fishy to me.

Something Fishy About This Sign
Heart 0 Comment 0

My route today traveled past the Green Mountain project.

My Route Traveled Around The Green Mountain Project
Heart 0 Comment 0

A very pretty lake it is.

A Very Pretty Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

And here's a shot of the embankment;

A View Of The Embankment
Heart 0 Comment 0

This road-cut through rock must have taken some effort.

Considerable Rock Removal Was Required To Build This Road
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's a view from above looking down at the powerplant;

Looking Down Towards The Powerplant
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had hoped that this store would be open, but I've learned to not rely on it and I always keep food with me now.

Oops! The Store Was Closed, But I Carry Extra Food And Water
Heart 0 Comment 0

Did you think you would get off without having to look at deer pics today? Wrong, here they are;

A Momma Deer And Her 2 Fawns Let Me Approach Cautiously
Heart 0 Comment 0
One Of The Fawns Watched Me, Unsure If I Was A Threat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mommy Deer Kept A Close Watch On Me As I Slowly Got Closer
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whatever This Tall Plant Is, Momma Deer Was Nibbling Away At It
Heart 0 Comment 0

I can usually get close to deer on the bike if I move slowly and don't make any quick motions with the camera. They don't consider me a threat as long as I'm not acting aggressively.

Here's a nice pastoral scene typical of the Colorado mountains;

Typical Colorado Pastoral Scene
Heart 0 Comment 0

My path continued upward into the mountains, and tomorrow I will (hopefully) cross Hoosier Pass.

My Path Led Towards The Mountains; Tomorrow I Cross Hoosier Pass! (Hopefully...)
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ascended alongside the Blue River, a magnificent mountain stream.

The Blue River, Typical View
Heart 0 Comment 0

Silverthorne was my destination for the night.

This Will Be The Highest I Have Slept On This Journey
Heart 0 Comment 0

I checked in at the Silver Inn and got some grub, then commenced planning for tomorrow's assault on Hoosier Pass. Hoosier Pass is the only significant obstacle I have remaining between me and the completion of my journey in Canon City. I'm coming for you, Hoosier Pass. I expect a hard fight, but in the end I will come out on top. All of the effort I have put into this journey boils down to tomorrow. I have to get over you, and I will do so. If I fall and break an arm, I will bike up using only 1 hand. If I fall and break a leg, I will make a crutch from an aspen branch and I will walk and push Harvey up the hill. It wouldn't be the first time I used an aspen branch for a crutch, not even the first time I had to do so in Colorado.

Near Canon City, CO; An Aspen Crutch For A Busted Ankle, 1975
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm coming for you Hoosier Pass, and if you want to stop me you will have to kill me. I've got too much invested to be stopped at this point. I'm coming for you Hoosier Pass...

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 4,174 miles (6,717 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0