Day 7: Troutville to Radford - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2015

Day 7: Troutville to Radford

Troutville, VA to Radford, VA
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Note to readers regarding the elevation profiles; the profile is calculated from Point "A" on the map to Point "B" on the map. Since I am traveling east to west on the first half of this transcontinental journey, my route of travel is usually shown on the map as being from right to left. However, the elevation profile is shown from left to right, so it must be "reversed" in your head to understand it.)

Climbing Today; 3,545 ft -- Total So Far; 18,053 ft

There was virtually no traffic after I left Troutville. The beauty of Virginia continues to blow my mind. There are gorgeous clear mountain streams everywhere. I must be getting into coal country, as I saw my first coal train.

I Wonder if That's Mr. Peabody's Coal Train?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm definitely getting into redneck country. But don't take my word for it, see for yourself;

Big Ass Truck Drive
Heart 0 Comment 0

And this fellow had a rather poignant warning to keep off his property;

Don't Let Me Have To?
Heart 0 Comment 0

While his word skills are a bit lacking, the sign gets the point across. The scenery is great, and I'm continuing my studies on slowing down. Some wildflowers;

Pretty Wildflowers Abound
Heart 0 Comment 0

Idyllic farm settings are everywhere;

Beautiful Farm Settings
Heart 0 Comment 0

And another obligatory photo of a gorgeous babbling brook;

Listen to it Babble
Heart 0 Comment 0

The riding is hard, with constant hills to navigate as I make my way toward the Kentucky Appalachians. Here's a view from the cockpit, showing one of the ACA maps that I follow;

The View From the Cockpit
Heart 0 Comment 0

And here I am enjoying a BLT and Gatorade before I make the steep climb into Christianburg;

Selfie Taken Using a Small Tripod and Shutter Delay
Heart 0 Comment 0

And the last pic for today shows another innovative way cyclists do laundry. After washing in the motel sink, here are my things cleverly hung up to be dryed by the room heater;

Innovative Laundry Drying
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m nursing a tender leg and hobbling a bit when I walk. It seems as though I have pulled/torn/strained a muscle behind my right knee. I think it happened a few days back when I had to do a longer day than originally planned due to nowhere to stay in Charlottesville. Maybe it will be better tomorrow...

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 404 miles (650 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0