Day 64: Rest Day in Lander - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2015

Day 64: Rest Day in Lander

Note; If you select the “Comment” link near the bottom of the page you can leave a message for me. I enjoy getting them.

I did laundry last night as soon as I arrived, and spent most of the day today working on this journal. I mailed a small packet home, and bought some trail food to sustain me during the coming day's rides. I was staying at the Holiday Lodge.

The Holiday Lodge Was A Nice Place, And There Was A Home-Cooking Restaurant Nearby
Heart 0 Comment 0

I liked the place. The rooms were nice, there was a reasonably-priced guest laundry, and the WIFI actually was strong enough to be usable. They had a free continental breakfast that was quite adequate, and there was a home-cooking restaurant just 2 doors down. What else could I need? Here's the sunrise view that morning;

Sunrise In Lander
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sleeping late for me means sleeping until 5:00 am or so, therefore I see the sunrise even on rest days. Here's my "found money" collection thus far;

Some Of My "Found Money" Looks Like A Semi-Truck Ran Over It; And It May Have!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Some of these are pretty beat up and look like they were run over by a Mack Truck, and they may well have been. One of the dimes is not even recognizable as such, unless you look at the edge and see the serrations.

Here are the "rules" to my found money game:

1.) Any money I find while riding or going about my business of cycle touring is fair game. So if I walk to the store to buy some food for tomorrow and find a dime on the street, that counts.

2.) I can't purposely go looking for money out of the way of my required activities. In other words, while riding through a town I can't divert into parking lots and ride through all the spaces looking for money. The money has to be found on the route of my ride, or while riding or walking to a café in a town, etc.

OK folks, I need to prepare for tomorrow. Good night...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0