Day 6: Lexington to Troutville; Learning to Slow Down - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2015

Day 6: Lexington to Troutville; Learning to Slow Down

Lexington, VA (Super 8) to Troutville, VA (Holiday Inn Express)
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Note to readers regarding the elevation profiles; the profile is calculated from Point "A" on the map to Point "B" on the map. Since I am traveling east to west on the first half of this transcontinental journey, my route of travel is usually shown on the map as being from right to left. However, the elevation profile is shown from left to right, so it must be "reversed" in your head to understand it.)

Climbing Today; 2,530 ft -- Total So Far; 14,508 ft

There was just a bit of traffic leaving Lexington, despite my 5:50 a.m. start. As I got out of town, the route diverted onto a rural county road and I quickly descended into fog. It was surreal, like flying through a cloud, and it lasted for a couple of miles. My glasses had water droplets on them and I had to occasionally wipe them off to see. I have been dreading the downhills, because losing elevation means that you just have to struggle up the next hill. I think that's a common reaction amongst cyclists, especially those riding a loaded touring bike that may weigh 100 pounds or more. But I am learning to enjoy the downhills, and just slow down and patiently work my way to the top of the next hill. There's a life lesson hidden in that philosophy; enjoy the good times and persevere through the hard times. Laugh and dance when you can, cause there will be times of sorrow and hardship. Such thoughts, and many more, go through one's head when pedaling a bike for hours a day. I love fog pics, so how about a few?

Foggy Outlook
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foggy Farm
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foggy Morn
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fog Clinging to the Ridgeline
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have passed a lot of wildflowers and didn't feel like I had time to stop and photograph them. So today I am slowing down.

Beauty in Small Things
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had stopped for a map check in Buchanan when Daniel cycled up! It's always great to run into a fellow cyclist that you "know" from the trail, and Daniel is an interesting young man. Another cyclist was traveling with him, and I met James Filmore. James is a British fellow who hails from London, and he is traveling the Transam east to west.

James - Brit Who Hails From London
Heart 0 Comment 0

Daniel gave me news of others we know. It seems that Dan and Josh met Kristen and Meggan and they all ended up in a bar in Lexington last night. A local fellow who had cycled the Transam years earlier heard they needed a place to camp and let them camp in his yard - oh, the wild joy of unrestrained youth! I am envious they can be so carefree. Daniel and James were going to look for lunch, and I cycled on ahead to Troutville and had a great lunch at the Country Kitchen. Checking my bike over in the hotel that night, I averted what could have been a disaster when I discovered a bolt had vibrated out of my rear rack.

See Where the Bolt Should Be? Yikes!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Fortunately I had some spare bolts and replaced and tightened it down well. That’s all for today folks, good night now...

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 340 miles (547 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0